ENGL 1270: Representing Gender (Fall 2024): Find Background

Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.

updated regularly with individually commissioned articles, and in addition includes articles from related stand-alone printed volumes, such as the Oxford Encyclopedias of American Literature, Literary Theory, Latina and Latino Literature, and others.

Provides a comprehensive survey of women writers across four centuries of American history...Personal, cultural, and historical issues, such as AIDS, racism, sexual harassment, and the Civil War, are examined alongside accounts of women publishing and contemporary literary theory, such as black feminism, lesbian literary theory, and deconstruction. [publisher's description]

Traces the development of women's literature in the U.S. from American indian women's writing to the present day, including coverage of Asian-American, Jewish-American, Latina, and LGBTQ writers.

250 entries by an international team of scholars explore how gender is represented in media, who produces the content, and the ways in which audiences receive and understand media messages. The contributors offer original insights on diverse aspects of gender in film, television, visual media, social and digital media and more.

Critically examines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in our society, addressing a variety of entertainment and news content in print and electronic media and exploring the social construction of masculinity as well as femininity.

"Explains the major theoretical approaches and definitions now deployed in the study of screen media. Entries range from longer overview essays which summarise the central paradigms of film and television theory, to shorter definitions of key concepts and introductions to major influential figures." (jacket copy) Includes cross-references, bibliographies, and index.

By Margaret Walters. Provides an historical account of feminism, exploring its earliest roots as well as key issues including voting rights, the liberation of the sixties, and its relevance today.

Contains over 500 authoritative entries by an international team of contributors and includes clear, concise and provocative explanations of key themes and ideas. Each entry contains cross references and a bibliographic guide to further reading.

2 volumes; Focuses on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research.

Offers accounts of the most important international developments in gay and lesbian cultural history "...written by some of the most famous names in the field, as well as new scholars, whose research continues to advance gender studies into the future."

Surveys more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, presented through over 500 entries. Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, among many others.

3 volumes, Contains over 500 entries that define sexuality from a broad biocultural perspective and show the diversity of human sexual behavior and belief systems.

Covers the major individuals and issues related to feminism's roots and the trends that are shaping its future.

This encyclopedia, featuring more than 300 well-researched articles, takes an interdisciplinary and intersectional approach to trans studies. Entries focus on diverse lives, identities, and contexts, including the experiences of trans people in different racial, religious, and sexual communities in the United States and the variety of ways that gender is expressed in other countries.

"The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies provides an invaluable resource for students and scholars in the overlapping areas of gender, feminist, queer, masculinity, and sexuality studies; and acknowledges the growing interdisciplinary impact of these fields. "