Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 1270.101: The Reading of Fiction (Fall 2021): Find Articles

A library research guide for students in Prof. Braddock's ENGL 1270 FWS.

Databases for Finding Literary Criticism

Note: The Articles & Full Text feature on the main Library web page allows you to perform simple searches across multiple databases. Because the various databases are structured differently, search results may vary widely. For more precise searching, it's best to search the databases individually. See the recommended databases on this page.

The list of databases below is only a selection. For more options, see the Databases subject listing.


Literature Databases

History and Historical Newspaper Databases

For more newspaper resources see our newspaper database list.

Don't pay for stuff!

Never pay for an article or book or access to resources. In most cases, the Cornell Library has online journals, newspapers, magazines, ebooks and print books, or can get them for you at no charge to you!

Passkey can help you find it at Cornell, or Ask a Librarian.

Multidisciplinary Databases

A Few Tips

Databases identify and locate articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.

Tip 1: Many databases provide full-text of journal articles.

Tip 2: If the database does not provide full-text, use Get it! Cornell or search the library catalog for the journal title (or book title). This will provide you with Cornell's holdings of the journal (in both print and electronic form).

Tip 3: For more precise searching, it is best to search the databases individually (rather than using the Articles & Full Text search).