ENGL 1183.107: Word and Image: Monsters! Victorian Gothic Short Stories (Fall 2025): Find Background

A scholarly A-Z of monsters throughout the ages. Contains over 200 signed entries written by experts in the field accompanied by an overview introduction by the editor. Generic entries such as 'ghost' and 'vampire' are cross-listed with important specific manifestations of that monster. Entries include bibliographies for further study.

Fourteen world-class experts on the Gothic provide thorough and revealing accounts of this haunting-to-horrifying type of fiction from the 1760s to the end of the twentieth century.The volume also includes a chronology and guides to further reading.

Features a series of newly-commissioned essays from experts in Gothic studies that cover all aspects of the Gothic as it is currently taught and researched, along with the development of the genre and its impact on contemporary culture. Provides comprehensive coverage of relevant authors, national traditions, critical developments, and notable texts that define, shape, and inform the genre. Extends beyond a purely literary analysis to explore Gothic elements of film, music, drama, art, and architecture.

Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.

"...plots the characteristics of Gothic's vastly different schools and manifestations... Among the many topics and figures discussed are: American Gothic, Aftican-American Gothic, the Demonic, Female Gothic, Ghost Stories, the Gothic Graphic Novel, Stephen King, H. P. Lovecraft, Madness, Monstrosity, Orientalism, Post-Colonial Gothic, Anne Rice, Romanticism, Sado-Masochism, Bram Stoker, the Sublime, the Uncanny, Vampires, and Werewolves." (publisher)

Examines the use of horror in storytelling, from oral traditions through folklore and fairy tales to contemporary horror fiction.

Discusses why horror stories disturb us, and Analysing the way in which horror manifests multiple personalities, and has been used throughout history to articulate the fears and taboos of the current generation, the author considers how society responds to literary and film representations of the gruesome and taboo.

Captures the history of the Gothic from ancient times to the present. It covers the sack of Rome by the barbarian tribes, mediaeval architecture, political theories of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, the rise of the Gothic novel, the Victorian Gothic Revival, and the influence of Gothic culture on film, music, and fashion.

The OED presents in alphabetical series the words that have formed the English vocabulary from the time of the earliest records down to the present day, with all the relevant facts concerning their form, sense-history, pronunciation, and etymology.

Covering the period 1837 through 1901, scholarly essays cover topics including sexuality, sensation, cityscapes, melodrama, epic and economics. Victorian writing is placed in its complex relation to the Empire, Europe and America, as well as to Britain's component nations. The final chapters consider how Victorian literature, and the period as a whole, influenced twentieth-century writers.

Discusses and analyzes topics such as industralization, social thought and reform, colonial expansion, and cultural identity - Focus is on Britain, but articles cover British influence in the United States, Europe, Ireland, and the British Empire, including special attention to India, Australia, and Africa. Selected primary sources, with commentary, offer documentary evidence of major themes of the era. Provides coverage of all aspects of everyday life, domestic life, and social conditions. Articles are written by scholars and experts in their fields

Comprises over 330 fully cross-referenced entries, combining in-depth omnibus essays exploring major topics, including the novel, plays, poetry, and global Victorian studies, alongside succinct articles on themes such as cosmopolitanism, journalism, race, sexuality, and reading.

"Covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. In five hundred substantial essays written by major scholars, the Encyclopedia of British Literature includes biographies of nearly four hundred individual authors and a hundred topical essays with detailed analyses of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant." Table of contents.

Intended to provide an "overview and point of departure" for the study of "persons, events, institutions, topics, groups, and artifacts in Great Britain between 1837 and 1901" (Pref.). Arranged alphabetically, signed articles end with additional readings. An annotated bibliography of key research sources concludes the encyclopedic dictionary. Cross-references, general index, illustrations, and chronology.