Olin Reference Collection
Encyclopedias are great for:
- choosing a topic
- educating yourself quickly
- perspective on a topic
- variant spellings, terminology
- bibliography
Art Reference Sources
- Oxford Art OnlineOxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists.
- Oxford Bibliographies: Art HistoryOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on art history. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
Audio & Video Resources in Poetry
- Columbia Granger’s world of poetry: the electronic Granger’s
- Indexes poetry in published anthologies. Contains full text of anthologized poems in the public domain, poetry excerpts from copyrighted works, and citations providing poem title, author, publisher, subject(s), and a list of anthologies in which the selected poem appears. 15,000 authors are represented with references to 558 separate anthologies (1992 release). Also contains audio readings of canonical works, and allows side-by-side comparison of texts.
- Literature Online.
- A full-text collection of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary references sources. In addition to full texts of canonical works and secondary critical works, LION also includes audio (Poetry Archive Audio) and video (Poets On Screen) archives of poets reading their works and the works of others. Click on the Texts tab, then on the Video and Audio link in the Browse column.
- PennSound
- PennSound is an ongoing project based at the University of Pennsylvania committed to producing new audio recordings and preserving existing audio archives. Launched January 1, 2005, it is a Web-based archive for noncommercial distribution of the largest collection of poetry sound files on the Internet. Most poets included are contemporary or modern.
- Poets.org
- Produced by the Academy of American poets, this site features recordings of poets, mostly contemporary and modern. Includes several recordings of W.H. Auden, Robert Frost, and A.R. Ammons reading their own work, as well as contemporary readings of poems by Dickinson, Hopkins, Keats, and Whitman.
- Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
- Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, this database provides a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Contains recordings of the works of Frost, Dickinson, Whitman and others.
- YouTube
- There are many recordings of poetry on YouTube, some read by the poet, some by others, some with accompanying animations, graphics, etc. Enter a poet's name in the search box (e.g, "w h auden") to see what's there. .
The Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford English DictionaryThe OED presents in alphabetical series the words that have formed the English vocabulary from the time of the earliest records down to the present day, with all the relevant facts concerning their form, sense-history, pronunciation, and etymology.
Literature Reference Sources
A Glossary of Literary Terms by Call Number: Olin Reference PN41 A184 2015Publication Date: Cengage Learning, 2015First published fifty years ago, A GLOSSARY OF LITERARY TERMS remains an essential text for all serious students of literature. Now fully updated to reflect the latest scholarship on recent and rapidly evolving critical theories, the 11th edition contains a complete glossary of essential literary terms presented as a series of engaging essays that explore the terms, place them in context, and suggest related entries and additional reading.
Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics.Call Number: Olin Reference PN1021 N39 2012+ c.2; also 501 Olin (Grad & Faculty Study Room)Publication Date: Princeton University Press, c2012. 4th ed.A revised and updated version of the major reference work for poetry. Compiled by an entirely new team of editors, this first new edition in almost twenty years reflects recent changes in literary and cultural studies, providing up-to-date coverage and giving greater attention to the international aspects of poetry, all while preserving the best of the previous volumes. [publisher] 1993 edition available online in LION.
A Poet's Glossary by Call Number: Olin Reference PN1021 H57 2014Publication Date: Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2014Alphabetically arranged dictionary "of forms, devices, groups, movements, isms, aesthetics, rhetorical terms, and folklore" related to poetry. International scope.
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN 81 E435 2011Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and CriticismCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN81 J554 2005+Publication Date: 2004Contains signed, in-depth overviews of the major schools of literary theory. Available online and in print.Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
Call Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PS21 E537 2004 +Publication Date: 20044 vols. Contains essays on US poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists. Figures such as Whitman, Melville, and Morrison are discussed in detail and examined in the context of his or her times, with an assessment of the writer's current reputation, a bibliography of major works, and a list of major critical and biographical works about the writer.
Oxford Encyclopedia of British LiteratureCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PR19 O95 2006Publication Date: 2006"Covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. In five hundred substantial essays written by major scholars, the Encyclopedia of British Literature includes biographies of nearly four hundred individual authors and a hundred topical essays with detailed analyses of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant." Table of contents.Encyclopedia of American Poetry. The Twentieth Century.
Call Number: Olin Reference PS323.5 E53x 2001+Publication Date: Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001"contains over 400 entries that treat a broad range of individual poets and poems, along with many articles devoted to topics, schools, or periods of American verse in the century. Entries fall into three main categories: poet entries, which provide biographical and cultural contexts for the author's career; entries on individual works, which offer closer explication of the most resonant poems in the 20th-century canon; and topical entries, which offer analyses of a given period of literary production, school, thematically constructed category, or other verse tradition that historically has been in dialogue with the poetry of the United States." (publisher)
