Subject Encyclopedias
 |
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
|
Film Encyclopedias, Guides, and Dictionaries
Cinema Studies: the Key ConceptsCall Number: Current (2018) print edition: Olin PN1993.45 .H36 2018Publication Date: Routledge, 20002nd. edition. 150 entries explore a wide range of genres, movements, theories and production terms with depth and clarity.
Companion to Literature, Film, and AdaptationPublication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2012A comprehensive collection of original essays that explore the aesthetics, economics, and mechanics of movie adaptation, from the days of silent cinema to contemporary franchise phenomena. featuring a range of theoretical approaches.
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN1993.45 C75x 2001 +Publication Date: 2001"Explains the major theoretical approaches and definitions now deployed in the study of screen media. Entries range from longer overview essays which summarise the central paradigms of film and television theory, to shorter definitions of key concepts and introductions to major influential figures." (jacket copy) Includes cross-references, bibliographies, and index.
International Dictionary of Films and FilmmakersPublication Date: St. James Press, 2000Features coverage of legendary films, actors, actresses, directors, writers, and other production artists through detailed essays and commentary by experts. Entries include biographies, filmographies, comprehensive credits, production information, major awards, and bibliographies.
Oxford Handbook of Adaptation StudiesPublication Date: Oxford UP, 2017This collection of forty essays written by leading scholars in adaptation studies hearken back to the foundations of adaptation studies a century and more ago, surveys its ferment of activity over the past twenty years, and looks forward to the future. Considers the very different problems in adapting the classics, from the Bible to Frankenstein to Philip Roth, and the commons, from online mashups and remixes to adult movies.
Need a Substantive Bibliography?
Nothing gets your research off to a good start like a substantive, scholarly bibliography. Oxford Bibliographies provide excellent, scholar-curated bibliographies of academic books and articles in a variety of subject areas. For film studies, see:
Oxford Bibliographies: Cinema and Media StudiesProvides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Background Sources for Literature
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN 81 E435 2011Publication Date: Malden, Mass.: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of LiteraturePublication Date: Oxford UP, 2015-presentupdated regularly with individually commissioned articles, and in addition includes articles from related stand-alone printed volumes, such as the Oxford Encyclopedias of American Literature, Literary Theory, Latina and Latino Literature, and others.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Literary TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN81 .O94 2022 +Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2022Illustrates the problems, the concepts, and the methodologies that arise when we discuss literary criticism. Around 180 full-length essays written by international experts discuss the theoretical categories and formal structures; the institutions that support the production, dissemination, interpretation, and valuation of literary texts; the identities of the real and textual persons who interact in the study of texts; and the systematic methodologies of literary interpretation and understanding.
- Gale Literature Resource CenterA literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Draws from Gale Group's core literary databases including Contemporary authors, Dictionary of literary biography, and Contemporary literary criticism. Provides additional search capability for Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of literature and Gale literary index.