Subject Encyclopedias
 |
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
|
Reference Sources for Literature
Ashgate Encyclopedia of Literary and Cinematic MonstersCall Number: Print copuy: Olin Reference PN 56 M55 W45 2013Publication Date: Ashgate, 2014A scholarly A-Z of monsters throughout the ages. Contains over 200 signed entries written by experts in the field accompanied by an overview introduction by the editor. Generic entries such as 'ghost' and 'vampire' are cross-listed with important specific manifestations of that monster. Entries include bibliographies for further study.
Cambridge Companion to Gothic FictionCall Number: Print copy: Olin stacks PR830.T3 C36 2002Publication Date: Cambridge U. Press, 2002Fourteen world-class experts on the Gothic provide thorough and revealing accounts of this haunting-to-horrifying type of fiction from the 1760s to the end of the twentieth century.The volume also includes a chronology and guides to further reading.
Cambridge Companion To DraculaCall Number: Print: Olin Library stacks PR6037.T617 D782223 2018Publication Date: Cambridge Univ. Press, 2017This volume illuminates Dracula's various pre-histories, critical contexts and subsequent cultural transformations. Chapters explore literary history, Gothic revival scholarship, folklore, anthropology, psychology, sexology, philosophy, occultism, cultural history, critical race theory, theatre and film history, and the place of the vampire in Europe and beyond.
Encyclopedia of the GothicCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN3435 E56 2013+Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2013Features a series of newly-commissioned essays from experts in Gothic studies that cover all aspects of the Gothic as it is currently taught and researched, along with the development of the genre and its impact on contemporary culture. Provides comprehensive coverage of relevant authors, national traditions, critical developments, and notable texts that define, shape, and inform the genre. Extends beyond a purely literary analysis to explore Gothic elements of film, music, drama, art, and architecture.
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN 81 E435 2011Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.
Handbook of the GothicCall Number: Olin Reference PN 3435 H35 2009Publication Date: New York University Press, 2009 (2nd ed.)"...plots the characteristics of Gothic's vastly different schools and manifestations... Among the many topics and figures discussed are: American Gothic, Aftican-American Gothic, the Demonic, Female Gothic, Ghost Stories, the Gothic Graphic Novel, Stephen King, H. P. Lovecraft, Madness, Monstrosity, Orientalism, Post-Colonial Gothic, Anne Rice, Romanticism, Sado-Masochism, Bram Stoker, the Sublime, the Uncanny, Vampires, and Werewolves." (publisher)
Palgrave Handbook to Horror LiteraturePublication Date: Palgrave, 2018Examines the use of horror in storytelling, from oral traditions through folklore and fairy tales to contemporary horror fiction.
Asian Horror EncyclopediaCall Number: Kroch Library Asia stacks PN56.H6 B87 2001Publication Date: Writers Club Press, 2001Covers Asian horror culture in literature, art, film and comics from its roots in ancient Chinese folklore to the best-selling Japanese horror novelists of today,
Reference Sources in Other Disciplines
Use authoritative dictionaries and reference sources.
Wikipedia might be a handy tool in some cases, but it's not what your professors would call a reliable or authoritative reference source. The library resources listed below provide access to scholarly information on a range of subjects. Use the Library Subject Guides to find many more.
Multidisciplinary Reference Sources
- Oxford ReferenceContains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press.
- Sage KnowledgeA database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American studies, aging & gerontology, anthropology, business and management, communication and media studies, counseling and psychotherapy, criminology and criminal justice, economics, education, environment, family studies, gender & sexuality studies, geography, health and social welfare, history, politics and international relations, psychology, research methods and evaluation, science, philosophy, and theology, social issues, social work and social policy, and sociology, and urban studies and planning.
New Dictionary of the History of IdeasCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference CB9 .N49 2005 +Publication Date: Detroit : Charles Scribner’s Sons, c2005.This thoroughly re-envisioned New Dictionary of the History of Ideas brings fresh intelligence and a global perspective to bear on timeless questions about the individual and society. A distinguished team of international scholars explore new thinking in areas previously covered (communism, linguistics, physics) and present cross-cultural perspectives on more recent topics such as postmodernism, deconstruction and post-colonialism.
Reference Sources for Science Fiction
This is just a small selection. Be sure to check our Science Fiction & Fantasy subject guide for much more.
Cambridge Companion to Science FictionCall Number: Print copy: Olin Library stacks PN3377.5 S3 C36x 2003Publication Date: Cambridge Univ. Press, 2003Brings together essays by scholars and practitioners of science fiction, which look at the genre from different angles. Historical chapters trace science fiction from Thomas More to more recent years, including a chapter on film and television. Essays also examine SF from perspectives of Marxism, postmodernism, feminism, queer theory and race/ethnicity.Companion to science fiction
Call Number: Print copy: Olin stacks PN3433.5 .C73 2005 +Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2005Signed scholarly essays cover important aspects in the history, genres, movements, films, international developments, and major authors (Russ, Delany, Bradbury, Dick, etc.) of SF. Bibliographies appended to each article. A Blackwell Companion.
Encyclopedia of Science Fiction (SFE)Publication Date: 2012- (online)Published online in collaboration with Gollancz and the SF Gateway. This new version climaxes thirty-five years of work (with breaks) for the senior editors, and is much expanded from previous editions of the Encyclopedia. Subscribe to the RSS Feed to see the most recently added entries.
How to Read Citations
Learning how to interpret citations you find in scholarly books and articles is a critical research skill and essential to efficiently finding the material you need for your assignments. Watch this video to learn how.