Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Olin Reference Collection
Encyclopedias are great for:
- choosing a topic
- educating yourself quickl
- perspective on a topic
- variant spellings, terminology
Resources for Medieval History
Medieval England: An Encyclopedia
Publication Date: Routledge, 1998
All aspects of life and culture in medieval England-art, architecture, law, literature, kings, commoners, women, music, commerce, technology, warfare, religion, and many others.
Cambridge Companion to Medievalism
Call Number: Print copy: Olin stacks CB353 .C36 2016
Publication Date: Cambridge UP, 2016
Offers a panoramic view of the historical, aesthetic, ideological and conceptual dimensions of medievalism, showcasing a range of critical positions and approaches to discussing medievalism, from more 'traditional' historicist and close-reading practices through to theoretically engaged methods. It also acquaints readers with key terms and provides them with a sophisticated conceptual vocabulary for discussing the medieval afterlife in the modern.
New Cambridge Medieval History
Call Number: Print copy: Olin stacks D117 .N48x 1995
Publication Date: Cambridge UP, 2008
A comprehensive history of Europe from 500 to 1500 AD, written by leading international scholars and incorporating the very latest research. In seven volumes: v. 1. c. 500-c. 700, v. 2. c. 700-c. 900, v. 3. c. 900-c. 1024, v. 4, pts. 1-2. c. 1024-c. 1198, v. 5. c. 1198-c. 1300, v. 6. c. 1300-c. 1415, v. 7. c. 1415-c. 1500.
The Middle Ages: a Very Short Introduction
Call Number: Print copy: Olin stacks D117 .R83 2014
Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2014
Provides an exploration of the variety, change, dynamism, and sheer complexity of the Medieval period in Europe, exploring the emergence of a truly global system of communication, conquest, and trade by the end of the era. Presenting an insight into the challenges of life in Europe between 500-1500 at all levels of society.
Reference Sources for English Literature
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature
Call Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PR19 O95 2006
Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2006
"Covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. In five hundred substantial essays written by major scholars, the Encyclopedia includes biographies of nearly four hundred individual authors and a hundred topical essays with detailed analyses of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant." Table of contents.
Oxford Companion to English Literature
Call Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PR 19 O94 2009+
Publication Date: Oxford U. Press, 2009
Available online and in print. Provides brief articles on authors and literary works from all periods of English literature are arranged alphabetically in this comprehensive single volume handbook.Contains extensive cross-references. Appendices include a chronology of English literature, and lists of poets laureate and major literary award winners.
Oxford English Dictionary
Call Number: Print: Olin Reference PE1625 M98
The OED presents in alphabetical series the words that have formed the English vocabulary from the time of the earliest records down to the present day, with all the relevant facts concerning their form, sense-history, pronunciation, and etymology.
Resources for Arthurian Studies
Cambridge Companion to the Arthurian Legend
Call Number: Print copy: Olin stacks PR328 .C36 2009
Publication Date: Cambridge UP, 2009
Outlines the evolution of the legend from the earliest documentary sources to Spamalot, and analyses how some of the major motifs of the legend have been passed down in both medieval and modern texts. Includes a map of Arthur's Britain, a chronology of key texts and a guide to further reading.
A Companion to Arthurian Literature
Call Number: Print copy: Olin stacks PN685 .C55 2009
Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2009
Offers a chronological sweep of the canon of Arthurian literature - from its earliest beginnings to the contemporary manifestations of Arthur found in film and electronic media. Examines contemporary additions to the Arthurian canon, including film and computer games.
Call Number: Print copies: Olin stacks PN685 .A78
Publication Date: D.S. Brewer, 1981-present (annual)
An interdisciplinary journal devoted to the critical study of all aspects of the Arthurian legend, from medieval and post-medieval Arthuriana across all European traditions, to global modern Arthurian medievalism. Subject coverage encompass manuscript study, literary analysis, source-study, and explorations of Arthurian heraldry, art, or music. Volumes 32 -35 available online.
Arthurian Myth and Legend
Call Number: Olin stacks DA152.5.A7 D59x 1995
Publication Date: Blandford, 1996
An A-Z encyclopedia covering topics related to the legend of King Arthur.
Oxford Guide to Arthurian Literature and Legend
Call Number: Olin stacks DA152.5.A7 L87 2005
Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2005
A critical history of the Arthurian tradition and a reference guide to Arthurian works, names, and symbols, offering a comprehensive survey of the legends in all of their manifestations, from their origins in medieval literature totheir adaptation in modern literature, arts, film, and popular culture.
Resources for Medieval Literature
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature in Britain
Call Number: Olin Reference PR 260 E53 2017
Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2017
4 volumes. Contains more than 600 scholarly entries spanning key figures, contexts, and influences in the literatures of Great Britain from the fifth century to the sixteenth. Bibliographies accompany each entry.
Cambridge Companion to Medieval Romance
Call Number: Print copy: Olin stacks PN671 .C36x 2000
Publication Date: Cambridge UP, 2000
Chapters describe the origins of early verse romance in twelfth-century French and Anglo-Norman courts and analyze the evolution of verse and prose romance in France, Germany, England, Italy, and Spain throughout the Middle Ages. The volume offers fresh perspectives on the manuscript context of romance, the relationship of romance to other genres, popular romance in urban contexts, romance as mirror of familiar and social tensions, and the representation of courtly love, chivalry, 'other' worlds and gender roles.
Oxford Handbook of Medieval Literature in English
Call Number: Print copy: Olin stacks PR255 .O85 2010 +
Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2010
Contains 44 newly commissioned scholarly essays covering topics such as the canonical genres of Saints' lives, sermons, romance, lyric poetry, and heroic poetry; major themes including monstrosity and marginality, patronage andliterary politics, manuscript studies and vernacularity are investigated; and there are close readings of key texts, such as Beowulf, Wulf and Eadwacer, and Ancrene Wisse and key authors from AElfric to Geoffrey Chaucer, Langland, and the Gawain Poet.
Medieval Literature: a Very Short Introduction
Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2015
Provides an account of the emergence of the earliest literature in Britain and Ireland, the historical and intellectual background to these works, and considers the physical production of the manuscripts and the earliest beginnings of print culture.