ENGL 1168.104: Action Movies and Licenses to Kill (Spring 2022): Find Background

Provides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Features coverage of legendary films, actors, actresses, directors, writers, and other production artists through detailed essays and commentary by experts. Entries include biographies, filmographies, comprehensive credits, production information, major awards, and bibliographies.

Comprises 200 essays by leading film scholars analyzing the most important, influential, innovative and interesting films of all time. Arranged alphabetically, each entry explores why each film is significant for those who study film and explores the social, historical and political contexts in which the film was produced.

Drawn from the online encyclopaedia of queer arts and culture - www.glbtq.com. Alphabetically arranged entries cover topics, people, films, and television shows from an LGBTQ perspective. Each entry contains a bibliography.

Provide as detailed overview of the key thinkers who have shaped the field of film philosophy. The thinkers include continental and 'post-continental' philosophers, analytic philosophers, film-makers, film reviewers, sociologists, and cultural theorists.

"Explains the major theoretical approaches and definitions now deployed in the study of screen media. Entries range from longer overview essays which summarise the central paradigms of film and television theory, to shorter definitions of key concepts and introductions to major influential figures." (jacket copy) Includes cross-references, bibliographies, and index.

An international reference work representing the essential ideas and concepts at the centre of film theory from the beginning of the twentieth century, to the beginning of the twenty-first. Signed articles by 50 scholars from around the globe address the difficult formulations and propositions in each theory by reducing these difficult formulations to straightforward propositions.