ENGL 1168.109: Disability and Writing (Fall 2025): FInd Background

The Encyclopedia of Disability is an award-winning five-volume set from SAGE Reference. It represents the first attempt to bring an authoritative reference resource to the many faces of disability. More than 500 world-renowned scholars have written over 1000 entries, in a clear, accessible style, with the desire to bring all students, researchers, and others closer to the daily experience of disability.

Provides insight into the current debates and issues that frame disability studies, combining a variety of different backgrounds and a diverse range of experiences across academic disciplines

This handbook surveys key debates in the field of disability art, culture, and media studies: the theories, issues, interests, and practices that have come to define the field. Includes commentaries that forecast the pressing present and future concerns for the field.

This book addresses the post-identity theoretical landscape by emphasizing questions of interdependency and independence, the human-animal relationship, and issues around the construction or materiality of gender, the body, and sexuality. Selections explore the underlying biases of medical and scientific experiments and explode the binary of the sound and the diseased mind. The collection addresses physical disabilities, but investigates issues around pain and invisible disabilities as well.

This volume in the SAGE Reference Series on Disability explores issues involving disability through the life course. With a balance of history, theory, research and application, specialists set out the findings and implications of research and practice for others whose current or future work involves the care and/or study of those with disabilities, as well as for the disabled themselves.

This fully revised and expanded second edition of the Routledge Handbook of Disability Studies takes a multidisciplinary approach to disability and provides an authoritative and up-to-date overview of the main issues in the field around the world today. Adopting an international perspective and arranged thematically, it surveys the state of the discipline, examining emerging and cutting-edge areas as well as core areas of contention.

A collection of eight essays by scholars who have published extensively within the disability studies literature, and who have helped build the field to its current state. Includes contributions from Robert Bogdan, Doug Biklen, Susan Schweik, and more.

A history of design that is often overlooked--until we need it. Disability advocates fought tirelessly to ensure that the needs of people with disabilities became a standard part of public design thinking.

Volume 5 of the Cultural History of Disability series

Volume 6 of the Cultural History of Disability series.

In Disability as a Social Construct, Claire Liachowitz contends that disability is not merely a result of a handicap but can be imposed by society through devaluation and segregation of people who deviate from physical norms. She analyzes pertinent American legislation, primarily from 1770 to 1920, to provide a new perspective on the mechanisms that translate physical defects into social and civil inferiority.

The first book to cover the entirety of disability history, from pre-1492 to the present. Disability is not just the story of someone we love or the story of whom we may become; rather it is undoubtedly the story of our nation. Covering the entirety of US history from pre-1492 to the present, A Disability History of the United States is the first book to place the experiences of people with disabilities at the center of the American narrative.

This volume explores issues facing people with disabilities in employment and the work environment. Part of the 8 volume SAGE Reference Series on Disability, which examines topics central to the lives of individuals with disabilities and their families.

Sparked by the disability rights movement of the late 20th century, disability history both expands and challenges the traditional American narrative of self-reliance, individualism, and opportunity and yields new understandings of such bedrock American values as community, family, and citizenship. From the asylum movement of the 19th century and the cover-up of Franklin Roosevelt's paralysis during his presidency to the landmark Americans with Disabilities Act and the impact of every war on veterans' physical and mental health, the experience of disability - and society's reaction to it - has changed markedly from one era to the next.

Henri-Jacques Stiker's now classic A History of Disability traces the history of western cultural responses to disability, from ancient times to the present. The sweep of the volume is broad; from a rereading and reinterpretation of the Oedipus myth to legislation regarding disability, Stiker proposes an analytical history that demonstrates how societies reveal themselves through their attitudes towards disability in unexpected ways.