Olin Reference Collection
 |
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
|
Literature Reference Resources
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN 81 E435 2011Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.
Encyclopedia of African LiteratureCall Number: Olin Reference PL8010 .E63x 2003ISBN: 9780415230193Publication Date: Routledge, 2003Covers the key historical and cultural issues in the field; contains over 600 entries covering criticism and theory, African literature's development as a field of scholarship, and studies of established and lesser-known writers and their texts. Also covers the literature back to the earliest eras of story-telling and oral transmission,
Cambridge Companion to Native American LiteratureCall Number: Olin Library PS153.I52 C36 2005"...provides an informative and wide-ranging overview of the literature in English by American Indians from the 1770s to the present day. It includes bio-bibliographies of forty authors, maps, suggestions for further reading, and a timeline which details major works of Native American and mainstream American literature, as well as significant social, cultural and historical events." (publisher)
Cambridge Companion to the Postcolonial NovelPublication Date: Cambridge UP, 2015Covers topics relevant to the postcolonial novel, exploring aspects such as magical realism, crime fiction, ecocriticism, disability, gender and sexuality.
Cambridge Companion to Postcolonial Literary StudiesPublication Date: Cambridge UP, 2004Introduces key concepts, methods, theories, thematic concerns, and contemporary debates in the field, explaining the impact of history, sociology and philosophy on the study of postcolonial literatures and cultures.
Encyclopedia of PhilosophyCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference B51 .E56 2006 +Publication Date: 2005Comprehensive English-language reference source for philosophy.
References Sources for Race, Ethnicity, History, and Sexuality
Use authoritative dictionaries and reference sources.
Wikipedia might be a handy tool in some cases, but it's not what your professors would call a reliable or authoritative reference source. The library resources listed below provide access to scholarly information on a range of subjects. Use the Library Subject Guides to find many more.
Encyclopedia of AfricaPublication Date: Oxford UP, 2010Focuses on African history and culture with articles that cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa.
Cambridge History of AfricaCall Number: Print copy: Olin Library DT20 .C17 (8 vols.)Publication Date: Cambridge UP, 1977-1986Multi-volume work containing scholarly essays covering all periods of African history through most of the 20th century. Included in Cambridge Histories Online.
Encyclopedia of gender and societyCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference HQ1115 E54 2009+Publication Date: Sage, 20092 volumes; Focuses on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research.
Encyclopedia of Global JusticePublication Date: Springer, 2012Spans all the relevant areas of scholarship related to issues of global justice. The entries number around 500 and consist of essays of 300 to 5000 words.
Encyclopedia of Human RightsPublication Date: Oxford University, 2009" .... offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history. The set will provide situation profiles and full coverage of the development of the movement, historical cases of abuse, the key figures, major organizations, and a range of other issues in economics, government, religion, and journalism that touch on human rights theory and practice." [About]
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and SocietyPublication Date: 2008Covers important topics, events, and persons relevant to race and ethicity in society. Also addresses other issues of inequality that intersect with race and ethnicity, including ability status, age, class, gender, and sexual orientation.
Human Rights: a Very Short IntroductionISBN: 9780198706168Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2016Considers new challenges to human rights in the context of privacy, equality and the right to health. Looking at the philosophical justification for rights, the historical origins of human rights and how they are formed in law, the author explains what our human rights actually are, what they might be, and where the human rights movement is heading.
