ENGL 1167.103: Reading Now. Navigating Respectability Politics (Spring 2023): Find Background

Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.

4 vols. Contains essays on US poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists. Figures such as Whitman, Melville, and Morrison are discussed in detail and examined in the context of their times, with an assessment of the writer's current reputation, a bibliography of major works, and a list of major critical and biographical works about the writer.

"A compilation of 415 literary terms, ages, movements, periods, and cultural sources, all cross-referenced....Definitions provide substantive discussion and cite specific examples from the works of major critics and major and minor writers from the 1700s to the present as well as discussions of the Harlem Renaissance, the Black Arts Movement,the Chicago Renaissance of the 1930s to 1950s, and the Black aesthetics of the 1980s

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on American literature and the American literary tradition over the past 500 years. Includes perspectives on postmodern theory, debates about the canon, slave narratives, comic books, and other topics while inviting trans-disciplinary collaboration with fields as varied as history, cultural studies, politics, and women’s studies. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

6 vols. Culture broadly defined provides information on persons, events, and trends. Concludes with a collection of around 35 primary documents, section of "Statistics and Lists," and an overall index.

3 vols. Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modern era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Some of the nearly 400 articles address broad theoretical topics that have helped to shape modern ideas about race and racism; others address more specific subjects in the larger fields.

Covers important topics, events, and persons relevant to race and ethicity in society. Also addresses other issues of inequality that intersect with race and ethnicity, including ability status, age, class, gender, and sexual orientation.

Brings together thirty-four original chapters from international experts that address key features of contemporary racisms. The Handbook has a global orientation and covers contemporary racisms in both the western and non-western geopolitical environments.

Scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Features articles by top scholars in the field, images, primary sources with specially written commentaries, maps,charts and tables, and biographies.