ENGL 1160.104: Black Narrative Forms (Fall 2022): Find Background

More than 4,000 articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religion, ethnic groups, organizations and countries on both sides of the Atlantic. Subjects range from affirmative action to zydeco and span over four million years from the earlies-known hominids to Sean "Diddy" Combs.

6 vols. Culture broadly defined provides information on persons, events, and trends. Concludes with a collection of around 35 primary documents, section of "Statistics and Lists," and an overall index.

3 vols. Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modern era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Some of the nearly 400 articles address broad theoretical topics that have helped to shape modern ideas about race and racism; others address more specific subjects in the larger fields.

Covers important topics, events, and persons relevant to race and ethicity in society. Also addresses other issues of inequality that intersect with race and ethnicity, including ability status, age, class, gender, and sexual orientation.

Scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Features articles by top scholars in the field, images, primary sources with specially written commentaries, maps,charts and tables, and biographies.

Brings together thirty-four original chapters from international experts that address key features of contemporary racisms. The Handbook has a global orientation and covers contemporary racisms in both the western and non-western geopolitical environments.

Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.

Contains signed, in-depth overviews of the major schools of literary theory Useful for understanding literary concepts, e.g., Postcolonial Cultural Studies, Multiculturalism, Race and Ethnicity, etc.

Provides explanations of almost twelve hundred terms as well as coverage of traditional drama, rhetoric, literary history, and textual criticism.

"An A to Z compilation of 415 literary terms, ages, movements, periods, and cultural sources, all cross-referenced....Definitions provide substantive discussion and cite specific examples from the works of major critics and major and minor writers from the 1700s to the present... Eight full-length essays, which serve as introductions to important aspects of literary theory and criticism, cover major terms... In addition to discussions of the Harlem Renaissance and the Black Arts Movement, the book describes the Chicago Renaissance of the 1930s to 1950s, the New Renaissance of the 1950s, and the new black aesthetics of the 1980s..[also includes]a literary timeline, divided into sections for African, African American, and Anglophone Caribbean literature that illustrates what was written during the same years in different parts of the world. The book also lists awards and honors given to African American authors." (publisher)

4 vols. Contains essays on US poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists. Figures such as Whitman, Melville, and Morrison are discussed in detail and examined in the context of their times, with an assessment of the writer's current reputation, a bibliography of major works, and a list of major critical and biographical works about the writer.

"Covers British and Irish fiction, American fiction, and World fiction, including major writers and their works; the genres and sub-genres of fiction (including crime fiction, sci fi, chick lit, the noir novel, and the avant garde novel); and the major movements, debates, and rubrics within the field." [publisher]

Includes entries on 150 major works of African American literature, on literary characters, and on icons of black culture Here, too, are general articles on the traditional literary genres; on genres of special import in African American letters, such as autobiography, slave narratives, Sunday School literature, and oratory.