ENGL 1160.104: Intersections: Race, Writing, and Power (Fall 2021): Find Background

6 vols. Culture broadly defined provides information on persons, events, and trends. Concludes with a collection of around 35 primary documents, section of "Statistics and Lists," and an overall index.

3 vols. Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modern era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Some of the nearly 400 articles address broad theoretical topics that have helped to shape modern ideas about race and racism; others address more specific subjects in the larger fields.

Covers important topics, events, and persons relevant to race and ethicity in society. Also addresses other issues of inequality that intersect with race and ethnicity, including ability status, age, class, gender, and sexual orientation.

Scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Features articles by top scholars in the field, images, primary sources with specially written commentaries, maps,charts and tables, and biographies.

Brings together thirty-four original chapters from international experts that address key features of contemporary racisms. The Handbook has a global orientation and covers contemporary racisms in both the western and non-western geopolitical environments.

More than 4,000 articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religion, ethnic groups, organizations and countries on both sides of the Atlantic. Subjects range from affirmative action to zydeco and span over four million years from the earlies-known hominids to Sean "Diddy" Combs.

26 Vols. Covers theory and methodology in core disciplines and emphasizes the cross-disciplinary interconnectedness among fields within the social sciences. More than 4,000 signed entries including overviews, reviews of future directions, biographies and bibliographies. Online version provides ongoing regular updates and additional new articles. Vol. 26 in print format is a classified list of entries by field and extensive subject index connecting related topics.

Perspectives from sociology, economics, philosophy, anthropology, political science, women's studies, cultural studies, psychoanalysis, and media theory (among others) are presented in this encyclopedia.

Covers social and cultural theories, ranging from classical approaches to postmodern, psychoanalytic and post-feminist approaches. There are also chapters on mobilities and migrations, as well as posthumanism.

An interdisciplinary compendium of original entries focusing on the origins, evolution, and global development of contemporary social theory. Presents a comprehensive, interdisciplinary overview and analysis of all aspects of social theory