Reference Sources on Disability Studes and the Body
- Encyclopedia of DisabilityCall Number: Print set: Olin Reference HV1568 .E528 2006 +Publication Date: Sage, 20055 vols. The first four volumes cover disability in an A to Z format, including a reader's guide, comprehensive bibliography and index. Volume five contains a wealth of primary source documents in the field of disability.
- Handbook of Disability StudiesPublication Date: Sage, 2003Provides insight into the current debates and issues that frame disability studies, combining a variety of different backgrounds and a diverse range of experiences across academic disciplines
- Routledge Handbook of Disability ActivismISBN: 9780815349303Publication Date: Routledge, 2019This comprehensive handbook emphasizes the importance of everyday disability activism and how activists across the world bring together a wide range of activism tactics and strategies. It also challenges the activist movements, transnational and emancipatory politics, as well as providing future directions for disability activism.
- Routledge Handbook of Disability Arts Culture and MediaPublication Date: 2018This handbook surveys key debates in the field of disability art, culture, and media studies: the theories, issues, interests, and practices that have come to define the field. Includes commentaries that forecast the pressing present and future concerns for the field.
- Routledge Handbook of Disability StudiesPublication Date: 2012Takes a multidisciplinary approach to disability and provides an authoritative and up-to-date overview of the main issues in the field around the world. Surveys the state of the discipline, examining emerging and cutting edge areas as well as areas of contention.
- Cultural Encyclopedia of the BodyCall Number: Olin Reference HM636 C85 2008Publication Date: Greenwood Press, 20082 vols. Includes essays that explore the human body alphabetically by part, detailing practices and beliefs from the past and present and from around the world.
Reference Sources on Literature and Literary Concepts
- Cambridge Companion to Literature and DisabilityCall Number: Print copy: Olin stacks PN56.5.H35 C36 2018Publication Date: Cambridge, 2017Covers the representation of disability in literatures in English across major time periods, critical approaches, and a wide range of impairments, such as cognitive difference, neurobehavioral conditions, and mental and chronic illnesses.
- Cambridge Companion to the Body in LiteraturePublication Date: Cambridge UP, 2015Charts our evolving understanding of the body from the Middle Ages to the present day, and addresses such questions as sensory perception, technology, language and affect; maternal bodies, disability and the representation of ageing; eating and obesity, pain, death and dying; and racialized and posthuman bodies. Also considers science and its construction of the body through disciplines such as obstetrics, sexology and neurology. Leading scholars in the field devote special attention to poetry, prose, drama and film, and chart a variety of theoretical understandings of the body.
- Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN 81 E435 2011Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and CriticismCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN81 J554 2005+Publication Date: 2004Contains signed, in-depth overviews of the major schools of literary theory Useful for understanding literary concepts, e.g., Postcolonial Cultural Studies, Multiculturalism, Race and Ethnicity, etc.