ENGL 1140.106: Writing Medicine: Stories of Illness and Healing (Fall 2024): FInd Background

An international reference work on all aspects of the social scientific study of health and illness. Spans concepts, theories, and substantive topics relating to the study of health in our globalized, 21st-century world from aging and stress to ICT and health care, and from disabilities to socio-economic status

2 volumes; Focuses on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research.

Covers important topics, events, and persons relevant to race and ethicity in society. Also addresses other issues of inequality that intersect with race and ethnicity, including ability status, age, class, gender, and sexual orientation.

3 vols. Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modern era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Some of the nearly 400 articles address broad theoretical topics that have helped to shape modern ideas about race and racism; others address more specific subjects in the larger fields.

5 vols. The first four volumes cover disability in an A to Z format, including a reader's guide, comprehensive bibliography and index. Volume five contains a wealth of primary source documents in the field of disability.

Presents perspectives on the human body from a wide variety of viewpoints, including those of writers, life scientists, historians, philosophers, health professionals, artists, psychologists, anthropologists, theologians, and many others.

Drawing on studies of sex and gender, education, governance, the economy, and religion, this volume demonstrates how our physical being allows us to affect the material and virtual world around us, yet also enables governments to shape and direct our thoughts and actions.

Brings together thirty-four original chapters from international experts that address key features of contemporary racisms. The Handbook has a global orientation and covers contemporary racisms in both the western and non-western geopolitical environments.

Covers a period dating back to the eighteenth century, highlighting the artistry, complexity and diversity of a literary tradition that ranges from Lucy Terry to Toni Morrison.

Charts our evolving understanding of the body from the Middle Ages to the present day, and addresses such questions as sensory perception, technology, language and affect; maternal bodies, disability and the representation of ageing; eating and obesity, pain, death and dying; and racialized and posthuman bodies. Also considers science and its construction of the body through disciplines such as obstetrics, sexology and neurology. Leading scholars in the field devote special attention to poetry, prose, drama and film, and chart a variety of theoretical understandings of the body.

Covers the representation of disability in literatures in English across major time periods, critical approaches, and a wide range of impairments, such as cognitive difference, neurobehavioral conditions, and mental and chronic illnesses.

Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.

updated regularly with individually commissioned articles, and in addition includes articles from related stand-alone printed volumes, such as the Oxford Encyclopedias of American Literature, Literary Theory, Latina and Latino Literature, and others.