Selected Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of gender and societyCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference HQ1115 E54 2009+Publication Date: Sage, 20092 volumes; Focuses on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research.Encyclopedia of Life Writing
Call Number: Olin Reference CT21 .E53 2001+Publication Date: 2001Signed articles cover "life writing," defined as something that "encompasses the writing of one's own or another's life," meaning standard autobiography and biography as well as letters, diaries, and memoirs.
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and SocietyPublication Date: 2008Covers important topics, events, and persons relevant to race and ethicity in society. Also addresses other issues of inequality that intersect with race and ethnicity, including ability status, age, class, gender, and sexual orientation.
International Encyclopedia of Human SexualityCall Number: Online and Olin Reference HQ 21 .I677 2015Publication Date: Wiley, 2015This Encyclopedia is a comprehensive A-Z reference with over 500 entries that define sexuality from a broad biocultural perspective and show the diversity of human sexual behavior and belief systems. * Contains entries ranging from short definitions of scientific, clinical, cultural, and colloquial terms to extended explorations of major concepts * Covers 13 key areas of content, from clinical medicine and body modification to the language of sexuality and the history of sexology * Serves as an essential resource for students, scholars, and researchers with contributions from an international team of top scholars and practitioners 3 Volumes www.encyclopediaofhumansexuality.com
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral SciencesCall Number: Olin Library Reference H41 I58x 2001 (print version)Publication Date: 200126 Vols. Covers theory and methodology in core disciplines and emphasizes the cross-disciplinary interconnectedness among fields within the social sciences. More than 4,000 signed entries including overviews, reviews of future directions, biographies and bibliographies. Online version provides ongoing regular updates and additional new articles.
Art Reference
- Oxford Art OnlineOxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists.
Subject Encyclopedias
 |
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
|
Multidisciplinary Reference Tools
Alternatives to Wikipedia!
- Oxford Reference Online
- Searchable database of 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works of Oxford University Press. Each topical division contains searchable versions of the latest editions of published dictionaries and encyclopedias.Covers general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, business and professional subjects.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online
- Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and keyword searchable.
- Sage Reference Online
- A database of reference books published by SAGE, including such areas as African American studies, aging & anthropology, business and management, communication and media studies, counseling and psychotherapy, criminology and criminal justice, economics, education, environment, family studies, gender & sexuality studies, geography, health and social welfare, history, politics and international relations, psychology, research methods and evaluation, science, philosophy, and theology, sociology, and urban studies and planning.
How to Read Citations
Learning how to interpret citations you find in scholarly books and articles is a critical research skill and essential to efficiently finding the material you need for your assignments. Watch this video to learn how.