Subject Encyclopedias
 |
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
|
Reference Sources for Literature
Cambridge Companion to Literature and ScienceCall Number: Print copy: Olin stacks PN55 .M48 2018Publication Date: Cambridge UP, 2018Weaving together theory and empiricism, individual chapters explore major figures - Shakespeare, Bacon, Emerson, Darwin, Henry James, William James, Whitehead, Einstein, Empson, and others; major genres and modes of writing - fiction, science fiction, non-fiction prose, poetry, and dramatic works; and major theories and movements - pragmatism, critical theory, science studies, cognitive science, ecocriticism, cultural studies, affect theory, digital humanities, and expanded empiricisms.
Cambridge Companion to Literature and the EnvironmentCall Number: Print copy: Olin stacks PN98.E36 C36 2014Publication Date: Cambridge UP, 2013Traces the development of ecocriticism from its origins in European pastoral literature and offers fifteen rigorous but accessible essays on the present state of environmental literary scholarship. Contributions from leading experts in the field probe a range of issues, including the place of the human within nature, ecofeminism and gender, engagements with European philosophy and the biological sciences, critical animal studies, postcolonialism, posthumanism, and climate change. A chronology of key publications and bibliography provide ample resources for further reading.
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryCall Number: Print copy; Olin Reference PN 81 E435 2011Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.
- Gale LiteratureA literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual
information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Includes both textual and visual material from the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.
Oxford Dictionary of Literary TermsCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN41 C67 2008Publication Date: Oxford University Press, 2008.Provides explanations of almost twelve hundred terms as well as coverage of traditional drama, rhetoric, literary history, and textual criticism.
- Oxford Bibliographies: Literary and Critical TheoryOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on literary and critical theory. Bibliographies are browsable by subject and keyword searchable.
Encyclopedia of Postcolonial StudiesCall Number: Olin Reference PN849.U43 E535 2016 + (print version)Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2016Covers the period from 1492 to the present, including the dynamics of European conquest from Columbus to China, and critiques of colonialism. Entries are written by leading scholars in the field.Encyclopedia of Post-colonial Literatures in English
Call Number: Olin Reference PR9080 A52 E53 2005Publication Date: Routledge, 2005This three-volume set covers the history and development of the literatures of the colonies of the former British Commonwealth, and includes original research relating to the literatures of some fifty countries and mandated territories. In addition to entries by genre, subject, and biography, there are also important "overviews" for selected major subjects and genres in the form of comparative essays which explore the issues over a variety of countries. Includes a comprehensive index to authors, subjects, and works.
Reference Sources in Other Disciplines
Use authoritative dictionaries and reference sources.
Wikipedia might be a handy tool in some cases, but it's not what your professors would call a reliable or authoritative reference source. The library resources listed below provide access to scholarly information on a range of subjects. Use the Library Subject Guides to find many more.
Reference Sources in Other Disciplines
Climate Change: an encyclopedia of science and historyPublication Date: ABC-CLIO, 2013Provides a holistic consideration of climate change that goes beyond pure science, fleshing out the discussion by considering cultural, historical, and policy-driven aspects of this important issue.
Encyclopedia of Climate and WeatherPublication Date: Oxford Univ. Press, 2011 (2nd ed.)Covers topics that include the processes that produce weather, the circulation of the atmosphere that generates the world's climates, classification of climates, important scientific concepts used by climatologists and meteorologists, and more.
Encyclopedia of Environmental ChangeISBN: 9781473928190Publication Date: Sage, 2014Written by a team of international authors, the Encyclopedia of Environmental Change provides a gateway to the complex facts, concepts, techniques, methodology and philosophy of environmental change.
Encyclopedia of EcologyPublication Date: Elsevier, 2008Covers field of ecology, from general to applied. Written by an international team of leading experts, entries cover a range of topics, including: Behavioral Ecology, Ecological Processes, Ecological Modeling, Ecological Engineering, Ecological Indicators, Ecological Informatics, Ecosystems, Ecotoxicology, Evolutionary Ecology, General Ecology, Global Ecology, Human Ecology, System Ecology.
New Dictionary of the History of IdeasCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference CB9 .N49 2005 +Publication Date: Detroit : Charles Scribner’s Sons, c2005.This thoroughly re-envisioned New Dictionary of the History of Ideas brings fresh intelligence and a global perspective to bear on timeless questions about the individual and society. A distinguished team of international scholars explore new thinking in areas previously covered (communism, linguistics, physics) and present cross-cultural perspectives on more recent topics such as postmodernism, deconstruction and post-colonialism.
- Sage KnowledgeA database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American studies, aging & gerontology, anthropology, business and management, communication and media studies, counseling and psychotherapy, criminology and criminal justice, economics, education, environment, family studies, gender & sexuality studies, geography, health and social welfare, history, politics and international relations, psychology, research methods and evaluation, science, philosophy, and theology, social issues, social work and social policy, and sociology, and urban studies and planning.
Reference Sources for Science Fiction
This is just a small selection. Be sure to check our Science Fiction subject guide for much more.
Cambridge Companion to Science Fiction
Call Number: Print copy: Olin Library stacks PN3377.5 S3 C36x 2003Publication Date: Cambridge Univ. Press, 2003Brings together essays by scholars and practitioners of science fiction, which look at the genre from different angles. Historical chapters trace science fiction from Thomas More to more recent years, including a chapter on film and television. Essays also examine SF from perspectives of Marxism, postmodernism, feminism, queer theory and race/ethnicity.Companion to science fiction
Call Number: Print copy: Olin stacks PN3433.5 .C73 2005 +Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2005Signed scholarly essays cover important aspects in the history, genres, movements, films, international developments, and major authors (Russ, Delany, Bradbury, Dick, etc.) of SF. Bibliographies appended to each article. A Blackwell Companion.