ENGL 1125.103: Climate Change and Communications (Fall 2025): Find Background

Provides an up-to-date guide for the historian working within the growing field of animal-human history. Divided into three parts: Animals and the Practice of History, Problems and Paradigms, and Themes and Provocations.

By presenting models for understanding animals' moral status and rights, and examining their mental lives and welfare, David DeGrazia explores the implications for how we should treat animals in connection with our diet, zoos, and research.

Presents essays on the position of animals in contemporary symbolism, hunting, domestication, sports and entertainment, science, philosophy, and art.

A diverse and intersectional collection which examines human and more-than-human animal relations, as well as the interconnectedness of human and animal oppressions through various lenses.

Weaving together theory and empiricism, individual chapters explore major figures - Shakespeare, Bacon, Emerson, Darwin, Henry James, William James, Whitehead, Einstein, Empson, and others; major genres and modes of writing - fiction, science fiction, non-fiction prose, poetry, and dramatic works; and major theories and movements - pragmatism, critical theory, science studies, cognitive science, ecocriticism, cultural studies, affect theory, digital humanities, and expanded empiricisms.

Traces the development of ecocriticism from its origins in European pastoral literature and offers fifteen rigorous but accessible essays on the present state of environmental literary scholarship. Contributions from leading experts in the field probe a range of issues, including the place of the human within nature, ecofeminism and gender, engagements with European philosophy and the biological sciences, critical animal studies, postcolonialism, posthumanism, and climate change. A chronology of key publications and bibliography provide ample resources for further reading.

Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.

updated regularly with individually commissioned articles, and in addition includes articles from related stand-alone printed volumes, such as the Oxford Encyclopedias of American Literature, Literary Theory, Latina and Latino Literature, and others.

Provides a holistic consideration of climate change that goes beyond pure science, fleshing out the discussion by considering cultural, historical, and policy-driven aspects of this important issue.

Covers topics that include the processes that produce weather, the circulation of the atmosphere that generates the world's climates, classification of climates, important scientific concepts used by climatologists and meteorologists, and more.

Covers field of ecology, from general to applied. Written by an international team of leading experts, entries cover a range of topics, including: Behavioral Ecology, Ecological Processes, Ecological Modeling, Ecological Engineering, Ecological Indicators, Ecological Informatics, Ecosystems, Ecotoxicology, Evolutionary Ecology, General Ecology, Global Ecology, Human Ecology, System Ecology.

Written by a team of international authors, the Encyclopedia of Environmental Change provides a gateway to the complex facts, concepts, techniques, methodology and philosophy of environmental change.

This work presents the a comprehensive and systematic treatment of all relevant issues and topics in contemporary global bioethics, including the effects of climate change.

Provides peer-reviewed bibliographies on environmental topics. New entries are added on an ongoing basis.

Explores the geopolitical, economic, technological, and social solutions to climate change, and argues for new modes of thinking in tackling the climate crisis

Addresses the ongoing theoretical and methodological development of game studies and includes models and approaches for analyzing video games, perspectives on video games both as an art form and cultural phenomenon, explorations of the technical and creative dimensions of video games, and accounts of the political, social, and cultural dynamics of video games.