ENGL 1120.102: Feminism in Print: Small Presses & Radical Publishing (Spring 2021): FInd Background

A survey of the feminist press movement internationally and a detailed critique of its long-term impact using a series of detailed case studies to highlight the nature of independence; the politics of race; feminist publishing and the academy; radical writing and publishing practice; and feminism's interface with mainstream publishing. (Online via HathiTrust)

"...includes alphabetically arranged entries on roughly 70 women writers whose works are widely read in English, and on some 20 related topics. While some of the writers profiled are widely known, others have not yet received as much attention... The writers selected are feminist, in that their works have challenged traditional gender roles, explored female oppression, or critiqued patriarchal social structures. In addition to providing biographical information, the entries include interpretative summaries of major works." [publisher] Online access through HathiTrust.

Considers the development of feminist theory through a literary lens. Stressing the significance of feminism's origins in the European Enlightenment, this book traces the literary careers of feminism's major thinkers in order to elucidate the connection of feminist theoretical production to literary work.

Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.

By Margaret Walters. Provides an historical account of feminism, exploring its earliest roots as well as key issues including voting rights, the liberation of the sixties, and its relevance today.

Contains over 500 authoritative entries by an international team of contributors and includes clear, concise and provocative explanations of key themes and ideas. Each entry contains cross references and a bibliographic guide to further reading.

2 volumes; Focuses on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research.

"The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies provides an invaluable resource for students and scholars in the overlapping areas of gender, feminist, queer, masculinity, and sexuality studies; and acknowledges the growing interdisciplinary impact of these fields. "

Surveys more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, presented through over 500 entries. Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, among many others.