Subject Encyclopedias
 |
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
|
Reference Sources for Literature
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN 81 E435 2011Publication Date: Malden, Mass.: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011Covers Literary Theory from 1900 to the present, providing accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.
Oxford Dictionary of Literary TermsCall Number: Print: Olin Reference PN41 C67 2008Publication Date: Oxford University Press, 2008.Provides explanations of almost twelve hundred terms as well as coverage of traditional drama, rhetoric, literary history, and textual criticism.
Oxford Encyclopedia of British LiteratureCall Number: Print: Olin Reference PR19 O95 2006Publication Date: Oxford U.P. 2006"Covers the history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the UK and the Republic of Ireland. Includes biographies of individual authors and topical essays with detailed analyses of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions." Table of contents.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of LiteraturePublication Date: Oxford UP, 2015-presentupdated regularly with individually commissioned articles, and in addition includes articles from related stand-alone printed volumes, such as the Oxford Encyclopedias of American Literature, Literary Theory, Latina and Latino Literature, and others.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Literary TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN81 .O94 2022 +Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2022Essays written by international experts discuss the theoretical categories and formal structures of literary theory; the institutions that support the production, dissemination, interpretation, and valuation of literary texts; the identities of the real and textual persons who interact in the study of texts; and the systematic methodologies of literary interpretation and understanding
Reference Sources on Indian/Postcolonial History
Encyclopedia of Postcolonial StudiesCall Number: Print: Olin Reference PN849.U43 E535 2016 +Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2016Covers the period from 1492 to the present, including the dynamics of European conquest from Columbus to China, and critiques of colonialism. Entries are written by leading scholars in the field.
Caste, Society and Politics in India from the Eighteenth Century to the Modern AgePublication Date: Cambridge UP, 1999Explores the emergence of the ideas, experiences and practices which gave rise to the so-called 'caste society' from the pre-colonial period to the end of the twentieth century. Part of The New Cambridge History of India (v4, pt. 3)
Indian Society and the Making of the British EmpirePublication Date: Cambridge UP, 1988Covers the period of India's transition to colonialism, reassessing the role of Indians in the politics and economics of early colonialism. Part of The New Cambridge History of India (v2, pt. 1).
Cambridge Encyclopedia of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan and the MaldivesCall Number: Kroch Library Asia Reference DS334.9 .C18 1989+Publication Date: Cambridge UP, 1989An international team of contributors presents the world of South Asia in an accessible & enjoyable form. The Encyclopedia is richly illustrated with many photographs, maps, & tables closely interwoven with the text.Encyclopedia of Post-colonial Literatures in English
Call Number: Olin Reference PR9080 A52 E53 2005Publication Date: Routledge, 2005This three-volume set covers the history and development of the literatures of the colonies of the former British Commonwealth, and includes original research relating to the literatures of some fifty countries and mandated territories. In addition to entries by genre, subject, and biography, there are also important "overviews" for selected major subjects and genres in the form of comparative essays which explore the issues over a variety of countries. Includes a comprehensive index to authors, subjects, and works.
Encyclopedia of India by Call Number: Kroch Library Asia Reference DS405 .E556 2005 + Vols. 1-4Publication Date: Gale, 2005In 4 volumes. Entry on "British Crown Raj" in Volume 1. Table of Contents.
Primary Sources
- East India Company"Offers access to a unique collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1595 to 1947." User's guide
- U.K. Parliamentary PapersEncompasses all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed. Includes House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. Includes Records of proceedings, the Debates (Hansard), and the House of Commons journal; Sessional papers providing information to parliament on matters of policy and administration: Bills, House papers, and Command papers. Also includes those Papers of the House of Lords presented to the Commons, such as reports prepared by Lords Select Committees.