Subject Encyclopedias
 |
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
|
Literature Reference Resources
- Gale LiteratureA literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual
information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Includes both textual and visual material from the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN 81 E435 2011Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and CriticismCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN81 J554 2005+Publication Date: 2004Contains signed, in-depth overviews of the major schools of literary theory Useful for understanding literary concepts, e.g., Postcolonial Cultural Studies, Multiculturalism, Race and Ethnicity, etc.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Literary TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN81 .O94 2022 +Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2022Illustrates the problems, the concepts, and the methodologies that arise when we discuss literary criticism. Around 180 full-length essays written by international experts discuss the theoretical categories and formal structures; the institutions that support the production, dissemination, interpretation, and valuation of literary texts; the identities of the real and textual persons who interact in the study of texts; and the systematic methodologies of literary interpretation and understanding.
Reference Sources for Language and Translation
Routledge Handbook of Translation and EthicsPublication Date: Routledge, 2021Offers a comprehensive overview of issues surrounding ethics in translating and interpreting. The chapters chart the philosophical and theoretical underpinnings of ethical thinking in Translation Studies and analyse the ethical dilemmas of various translatorial actors, including translation trainers and researchers.
Routledge Handbook of Literary TranslationPublication Date: Routledge, 2018Provides an accessible, diverse and extensive overview of literary translation today, bringing together principles, case studies, precepts, histories and process knowledge from practitioners in sixteen different countries. Features genre studies, in which graphic novels, crime fiction, and ethnopoetry have pride of place alongside classic texts.Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies
Publication Date: Routledge, 2019Offers authoritative, critical overviews of topics such as authorship, canonization, conquest, cosmopolitanism, crowdsourced translation, dubbing, fan audiovisual translation, genetic criticism, healthcare interpreting, hybridity, intersectionality, legal interpreting, media interpreting, memory, multimodality and world literature. Each entry ends with a set of annotated references for further reading.
Translation EthicsPublication Date: Routledge, 2023Outlines the main contributions in the area of translation ethics and traces the development of thought on ethics from absolutism to relativism, or, from staunchly-argued textual viewpoints to current lines of thought placing the translator as agent and an active - even interventionary.
International Encyclopedia of EthicsPublication Date: Wiley-Blackwekk, 2013Provides clear definitions and explanations of all areas of ethics including the topics, movements, arguments, and key figures in Normative Ethics, Metaethics, and Practical Ethics. Covers the major philosophical and religious traditions. All entries are peer-reviewed.
Oxford English DictionaryCall Number: Print: Olin Reference PE1625 M98The OED presents in alphabetical series the words that have formed the English vocabulary from the time of the earliest records down to the present day, with all the relevant facts concerning their form, sense-history, pronunciation, and etymology.
