Subject Encyclopedias
 |
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
|
Reference Sources for Literature
- Gale LiteratureA literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual
information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Includes both textual and visual material from the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN 81 E435 2011Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.
Oxford Dictionary of Literary TermsCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN41 C67 2008Publication Date: Oxford University Press, 2008.Provides explanations of almost twelve hundred terms as well as coverage of traditional drama, rhetoric, literary history, and textual criticism.
Reference Sources for Animals
Encyclopedia of Animal BehaviorPublication Date: Elsevier, 2004Examines a broad array of different species and behavior patterns, using techniques that range from molecular approaches to the study of behavior to analyses of individuals, populations, species, and ecosystems.
Human-Animal Relationships
Routledge Companion to Animal-Human History
Publication Date: Routledge, 2018Provides an up-to-date guide for the historian working within the growing field of animal-human history. Divided into three parts: Animals and the Practice of History, Problems and Paradigms, and Themes and Provocations.
A Cultural History of AnimalsCall Number: Online access through HathiTrustPublication Date: Berg, 2007A multi-volume project on the history of human-animal relations from ancient times to the present. The set of six volumes covers 4500 years of human-animal interaction. Volume 1: Antiquity to the Dark Ages (2500BC - 1000AD) Volume 2: The Medieval Age (1000-1400) Volume 3: The Renaissance (1400-1600) Volume 4: The Enlightenment (1600-1800) Volume 5: The Age of Empire (1800-1920) Volume 6: The Modern Age (1920-2000.
Animal Rights: a very short introduction by Publication Date: Oxford Univ. Press, 2002By presenting models for understanding animals' moral status and rights, and examining their mental lives and welfare, David DeGrazia explores the implications for how we should treat animals in connection with our diet, zoos, and research.
Reference Sources in Other Disciplines
Use authoritative dictionaries and reference sources.
Wikipedia might be a handy tool in some cases, but it's not what your professors would call a reliable or authoritative reference source. The library resources listed below provide access to scholarly information on a range of subjects. Use the Library Subject Guides to find many more.
Multidisciplinary Reference Sources
- Oxford ReferenceContains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press.
- Sage KnowledgeA database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American studies, aging & gerontology, anthropology, business and management, communication and media studies, counseling and psychotherapy, criminology and criminal justice, economics, education, environment, family studies, gender & sexuality studies, geography, health and social welfare, history, politics and international relations, psychology, research methods and evaluation, science, philosophy, and theology, social issues, social work and social policy, and sociology, and urban studies and planning.