Reference Sources for Literature
Cambridge Companion to Gothic FictionCall Number: Print copy: Olin stacks PR830.T3 C36 2002Publication Date: Cambridge U. Press, 2002Fourteen world-class experts on the Gothic provide thorough and revealing accounts of this haunting-to-horrifying type of fiction from the 1760s to the end of the twentieth century.The volume also includes a chronology and guides to further reading.
Encyclopedia of the GothicCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN3435 E56 2013+Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2013Features a series of newly-commissioned essays from experts in Gothic studies that cover all aspects of the Gothic as it is currently taught and researched, along with the development of the genre and its impact on contemporary culture. Provides comprehensive coverage of relevant authors, national traditions, critical developments, and notable texts that define, shape, and inform the genre. Extends beyond a purely literary analysis to explore Gothic elements of film, music, drama, art, and architecture.
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN 81 E435 2011Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.
Palgrave Handbook to Horror LiteraturePublication Date: Palgrave, 2018Examines the use of horror in storytelling, from oral traditions through folklore and fairy tales to contemporary horror fiction.
Horror: a Very Short Introduction by Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2021Discusses why horror stories disturb us, and Analysing the way in which horror manifests multiple personalities, and has been used throughout history to articulate the fears and taboos of the current generation, the author considers how society responds to literary and film representations of the gruesome and taboo.
The Gothic: a Very Short IntroductionPublication Date: Oxford UP, 2012Captures the history of the Gothic from ancient times to the present. It covers the sack of Rome by the barbarian tribes, mediaeval architecture, political theories of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, the rise of the Gothic novel, the Victorian Gothic Revival, and the influence of Gothic culture on film, music, and fashion.
- Gale LiteratureA literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual
information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Includes both textual and visual material from the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.
Routledge Introduction to the American Ghost StoryPublication Date: Routledge, 2024Traces the historical development of the American ghost story from its Indigenous, Puritan, and Enlightenment origins to its heyday in the nineteenth century and continued vibrancy in modern literary and visual culture.
Subject Encyclopedias
 |
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
|
Reference Sources for Film
This is just a small selection. Be sure to check our Science Fiction & Fantasy subject guide for much more.
A Companion to the Horror FilmPublication Date: Wiley-Blackwekk, 2014Features original essays by eminent scholars covering everything from the history of horror movies to the latest critical approaches, from the history of horror to broader issues of censorship, gender, sexuality, and horror's relation to documentary film practice.
Gothic film: an Edinburgh companionCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: Edinburgh UP, 2020This anthology explores the resilience and ubiquity of the Gothic in cinema from its earliest days to its most contemporary iterations.
International Dictionary of Films and FilmmakersPublication Date: St. James Press, 2000Features coverage of legendary films, actors, actresses, directors, writers, and other production artists through detailed essays and commentary by experts. Entries include biographies, filmographies, comprehensive credits, production information, major awards, and bibliographies.
Cinema Studies: the Key ConceptsCall Number: Current (2018) print edition: Olin PN1993.45 .H36 2018Publication Date: Routledge, 20002nd. edition. 150 entries explore a wide range of genres, movements, theories and production terms with depth and clarity.
Oxford Bibliographies: Cinema and Media StudiesProvides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
