ENGL 1105.101: Women and the Novel (Fall 2023): FInd Background

First published fifty years ago, A GLOSSARY OF LITERARY TERMS remains an essential text for all serious students of literature. Now fully updated to reflect the latest scholarship on recent and rapidly evolving critical theories, the 11th edition contains a complete glossary of essential literary terms presented as a series of engaging essays that explore the terms, place them in context, and suggest related entries and additional reading.

Contains biographical entries for British women writers from the eighteenth century to the present. Each entry includes a list of the author's primary works and a bibliography of critical sources. Entries are signed and a list of contributors is provided. The detailed index is cross referenced for pseudonyms or variant names used by an author.

"Provides overviews of key people, issues, theories, terms, concerns, and methodologies in feminist literary theory. Entries detail the significance of literary periods and fields such as Medieval Studies, Shakespeare, and Romanticism for feminist theory, suggesting how feminisms affect the development of new ideas and intellectual practices." Includes bibliographies. (publisher)

Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.

Contains signed, in-depth overviews of the major schools of literary theory. Available online and in print.

4 vols. Contains essays on US poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists. Figures such as Whitman, Melville, and Morrison are discussed in detail and examined in the context of his or her times, with an assessment of the writer's current reputation, a bibliography of major works, and a list of major critical and biographical works about the writer.

"Covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. In five hundred substantial essays written by major scholars, the Encyclopedia of British Literature includes biographies of nearly four hundred individual authors and a hundred topical essays with detailed analyses of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant." Table of contents.

The OED presents in alphabetical series the words that have formed the English vocabulary from the time of the earliest records down to the present day, with all the relevant facts concerning their form, sense-history, pronunciation, and etymology.

Contents: v. 1. Classical criticism / edited by George A. Kennedy -- v. 3. The Renaissance / edited by Glyn P. Norton -- v. 4. Eighteenth century / edited by H.B. Nisbet and Claude Rawson -- v. 5. Romanticism / edited by Marshall Brown -- v. 7. Modernism and the new criticism / edited by A. Walton Litz, Louis Menand, and Lawrence Rainey -- v. 8. From formalism to poststructuralism / edited by Raman Selden -- v. 9. Twentieth-century historical, philosophical and psychological perspectives / edited by Christa Knellwolf and Christopher Norris.

Contains peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on American literature and the American literary tradition over the past 500 years. Includes perspectives on postmodern theory, debates about the canon, slave narratives, comic books, and other topics while inviting trans-disciplinary collaboration with fields as varied as history, cultural studies, politics, and women's studies. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on British and Irish literature. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

2 volumes; Focuses on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research.

A timely and thorough review of gender issues and research. Articles are written by prominent scholars and arranged by topic (e.g., Affirmative Action, Power, Social Identity). Includes bibliographies.

"Featuring comprehensive global coverage of women's issues and concerns, from violence and sexuality to feminist theory..." [publisher]

"The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies provides an invaluable resource for students and scholars in the overlapping areas of gender, feminist, queer, masculinity, and sexuality studies; and acknowledges the growing interdisciplinary impact of these fields. "