Useful Resources
FOR NEW STUDENTS
Get help from librarians.
We are here to help you in person, on the phone, or through 24/7 chat.
Check out the Engineering Library webpage for many useful links to scholarly information.
Borrow books.
While many books and journals are online, we still have print books. Reserve books are in Olin Library and 20,000 engineering books are in Uris Library.
Borrow laptops and other devices.
The library loans out equipment, including digital still cameras, digital video cameras, digital voice recorders, computer/video projectors, and laptops.
Even when off-campus, access journals and databases available only through our library.
Learn about and install Access Anywhere for your web browser.
Make use of assistive technology.
Discover resources to help with a temporary or permanent disability.
Develop your skills in free library workshops.
See the calendar and attend sessions on different topics.
Learn from online library guides.
Make use of guides created by Cornell University librarians on a variety of subjects.
Find a student job on campus.
Explore employment opportunities while studying.
FOR FAMILIES, ON AND OFF CAMPUS
Connect to wi-fi as a visitor.
Get internet access while on campus.
Discover library resources and services for alumni.
If you're a Cornell alum, visit this site with links to scholarly journal articles and databases, archives of The Cornell Daily Sun, treasures from our special collections, information on exhibits in our libraries, and updates on library events.
Access books, ebooks, and more from a library near you.
Overdrive (Libby) - Read ebooks with Overdrive, available at your local public library. It's also available to Cornell students, faculty, and staff through the Cornell library website. Ebooks are nice when traveling.
Worldcat - WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and collections. You can use WorldCat to determine citations for books, journals, and other media, locate a copy near you, and even request a copy for delivery.
New York Public Library Borrower Card Registration - Any person who lives, works, attends school or pays property taxes in New York State is eligible to receive a New York Public Library card free of charge. You can borrow Overdrive ebooks without visiting the library in person.
Internet Archive - This is a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 150 billion archived web pages. The Cornell University Library has contributed many volumes to this collection.
Library Locator - Find a Library Near You - The resources at this link will help you find the nearest physical library to any location. Includes public, academic, and specialized libraries.
Plan your campus visit.
Go to this site providing information and resources about coming to Cornell.