US Statistics

Data.gov

Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations.

Compendia, Indexes and Portals
US, State, City

Archived Government Data

Crime

Economy

Education 

Energy

Elections, US

Health

Income & Poverty

New York State Open Data

Politics and Government

Population, Housing, etc.
(links to the US Census guide)

Public Opinion
(links out to the Polling and Public Opinion guide)

Refugee Arrivals

Religion

Trade

Transportation

State Census Data (Historical)

US Census 

US Cities

Resources

1790 - 2010:

Social Explorer.
Includes data from the Decennial Censuses (back to 1790), the American Community Survey (2005 --), along with other datasets not derived from the census, such as religion data (back to 1980).

1970 - 2010, reallocated to 2010 census boundaries:

Social Explorer: Tables
U.S. Decennial Censuses on 2010 Geographies provide reallocated data from Decennial Censuses on 2010 geographies. "Reallocation of decennial census data on 2010 geographies was performed using reallocation fractions from Longitudinal Tract Data Base (LTDB). Data is available on census tract, county, state and nation level geographies. The form of this survey, as well as the datasets and tables it contains, is kept similar to our corresponding Decennial Census surveys. See: Reallocating Census Data: How Social Explorer Makes Cross-Decade Comparisons Possible.

Note: Social Explorer does not include the non-decennial (intercensal) data from 1790 to 1945, generally known as the "Dubester set" (referencing a guide issued by the Library of Congress).

Prior to 1980, you may find that some areas are represented only by numeric codes. To identify the correct code see the census tables for metro-micro areas.

From 1940 - 1960:

Social explorer only provides census tract, county, state and US. See: Print and PDF Sources of Older Census Volumes.

1790 - :

National Historical Geographic Information System
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides free online access to summary statistics and GIS boundary files for U.S. censuses and other nationwide surveys from 1790 through the present. Includes some geographies not represented in Social Explorer, above.

1960 - 2010:

Geolytics CDROM

Note: The NCDB (National Change Database) disk includes 1970 - 2010 data, normalized to 2010 boundaries, down to the tract level. Unfortunately, Geolytics, a proprietary company, does not share it's methodology. Compare with Social Explorer Reallocated tables, above. See also: Validating Population Estimates for Harmonized Census Tract Data, 2000–2010 comparing NCDB with LTDB and NHGIS

2000 - 2010: Archived Data

American Factfinder (AFF).

2010: Data from the short form, sent to every household, and sample data from the American Community Survey, released in 1-year, 3-year and 5-year estimates. Please note: AFF is no longer being updated. See Data.Census.Gov, below.

2010 -

Data.Census.Gov

2010 decennial census (short form, sent to every household) and sample data from the American Community Survey (1-year, and 5-year estimates.). Please note: Some data from AFF has not yet migrated.

Health Statistics, US & International

More ...