How to Use HathiTrust e-Books
Have you encountered a book with this link?
That means it is a HathiTrust "ETAS" (Emergency Temporary Access Service) book and is only available electronically. During the pandemic, you may encounter this location information for some books. It indicates a type of electronic access provided by the HathiTrust, Click on the "Connect to full text" link and sign in. Here are further instructions for how to use the HathiTrust ETAS:
Finding Books
The Cornell University Library uses the Library of Congress classification system.
Subject Browse
Use the Subject Browse feature to discover books in the catalog :
Helpful Reference Books & Databases
- Performing Arts Periodicals DatabaseFormerly the International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) covers dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, and magic. Full text from 1999 onward.
- American National BiographyBiographical dictionary of about 17,500 notable American men and women from all eras of American history who are no longer alive. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples of North AmericaBibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
- Black Studies CenterBlack Studies Center combines invaluable resources for research and teaching in Black studies: Schomburg studies on the Black experience, International index of Black periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago defender, ProQuest dissertations for Black studies, and Black literature index. This fully cross-searchable gateway to Black studies includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more.
- Gale Literature Resource CenterA literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Draws from Gale Group's core literary databases including Contemporary authors, Dictionary of literary biography, and Contemporary literary criticism. Provides additional search capability for Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of literature and Gale literary index.
Catalogs: Learn to search library catalogs effectively to locate books and other relevant materials
Example
