Subject Encyclopedias
 |
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
|
Reference Sources for Literature
- Gale Literature
- A literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Includes material from the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN 81 E435 2011Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and CriticismCall Number: Olin Reference PN81 J554 2005+ (print version)Publication Date: 2004Contains signed, in-depth overviews of the major schools of literary theory Useful for understanding literary concepts, e.g., Postcolonial Cultural Studies, Multiculturalism, Race and Ethnicity, etc.
Oxford Dictionary of Literary TermsCall Number: Print: Olin Reference PN41 C67 2008Publication Date: Oxford University Press, 2008.Provides explanations of almost twelve hundred terms as well as coverage of traditional drama, rhetoric, literary history, and textual criticism.
Oxford Encyclopedia of British LiteratureCall Number: Print: Olin Reference PR19 O95 2006Publication Date: Oxford U.P. 2006"Covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. In five hundred substantial essays written by major scholars, the Encyclopedia of British Literature includes biographies of nearly four hundred individual authors and a hundred topical essays with detailed analyses of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant." Table of contents.
Reference Sources on Postcolonialism
Encyclopedia of Post-colonial Literatures in English
Call Number: Olin Reference PR9080 A52 E53 2005Publication Date: Routledge, 2005This three-volume set covers the history and development of the literatures of the colonies of the former British Commonwealth, and includes original research relating to the literatures of some fifty countries and mandated territories. In addition to entries by genre, subject, and biography, there are also important "overviews" for selected major subjects and genres in the form of comparative essays which explore the issues over a variety of countries. Includes a comprehensive index to authors, subjects, and works.
Cambridge Companion to Postcolonial Literary StudiesPublication Date: Cambridge UP, 2004Introduces key concepts, methods, theories, thematic concerns, and contemporary debates in the field, explaining the impact of history, sociology and philosophy on the study of postcolonial literatures and cultures.
Cambridge Companion to the Postcolonial NovelPublication Date: Cambridge UP, 2015Covers topics relevant to the postcolonial novel, exploring aspects such as magical realism, crime fiction, ecocriticism, disability, gender and sexuality.
Encyclopedia of Postcolonial StudiesCall Number: Print: Olin Reference PN849.U43 E535 2016 +Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2016Covers the period from 1492 to the present, including the dynamics of European conquest from Columbus to China, and critiques of colonialism. Entries are written by leading scholars in the field.
Postcolonialism: a Very Short IntroductionPublication Date: Oxford UP, 2003Examines the political, social, and cultural after-effects of decolonization by presenting situations, experiences, and testimony rather than going through the theory at an abstract level.
Globalization: a Very Short IntroductionPublication Date: Oxford UP, 2017Presenting globalization as a multifaceted process encompassing global, regional, and local aspects of social life, such as the EU fiscal crisis, the rise of robot technology and new war technology with civilian usage such as drones, the Ebola epidemic in West Africa, and new identity discussions around gender fluidity and sex changein the media.
Kroch Library Asia Collections
Connected to Olin Library from the main level, the Division of Asia Collections in Kroch Library is widely regarded as having one of the largest and most significant collections of Asian historical and literary materials in North America. The Asia Collections include reference books, periodicals, newspapers, microfilms and fiche, electronic resources, as well as two levels of book stacks. Books on Asian film can be found on the Mezzanine level in the PN section.