The Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford English DictionaryCall Number: Print: Olin Reference PE1625 M98The OED presents in alphabetical series the words that have formed the English vocabulary from the time of the earliest records down to the present day, with all the relevant facts concerning their form, sense-history, pronunciation, and etymology.
Literary Terminology and Theory
NOTE: The print Olin Reference titles (those not hyperlinked) are in storage due to the library construction project and must be requested at the Olin Circulation Desk.
A Glossary of Literary Terms by Call Number: Olin Reference PN41 A184 2015ISBN: 9781285465067Publication Date: 11th ed., 2015"For clarity, concision and elegance Abrams has few peers and no superiors; plain spoken but not simplistic, his essays on critical methods are the best short treatments in the business." (Choice)
Oxford Dictionary of Literary TermsCall Number: Print: Olin Reference PN41 C67 2008Publication Date: Oxford University Press, 2008.Provides explanations of almost twelve hundred terms as well as coverage of traditional drama, rhetoric, literary history, and textual criticism.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Literary TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN81 .O94 2022 +Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2022Illustrates the problems, the concepts, and the methodologies that arise when we discuss literary criticism. Around 180 full-length essays written by international experts discuss the theoretical categories and formal structures; the institutions that support the production, dissemination, interpretation, and valuation of literary texts; the identities of the real and textual persons who interact in the study of texts; and the systematic methodologies of literary interpretation and understanding.Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
Call Number: Print: Olin Reference PS21 E537 2004 +Publication Date: Oxford UP, 20044 vols. Contains essays on US poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists. Figures such as Whitman, Melville, and Morrison are discussed in detail and examined in the context of their times, with an assessment of the writer's current reputation, a bibliography of major works, and a list of major critical and biographical works about the writer.
Oxford Encyclopedia of British LiteratureCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PR19 O95 2006Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2006"Covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. In five hundred substantial essays written by major scholars, the Encyclopedia includes biographies of nearly four hundred individual authors and a hundred topical essays with detailed analyses of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant." Table of contents.
Adonis to Zorro: Oxford Dictionary of Reference and AllusionCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN 43 D43 2010Publication Date: Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010. 3rd ed.Based on an extensive reading program that has identified the most commonly-used allusions. All entries have at least one illustrative citation from a range of source materials.
New Princeton Handbook of Poetic TermsPublication Date: Princeton Univ. Press, 1994Includes 200 entries selected from the New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, with primary emphasis on poetic and prosodic terms that are most common in literary study.
Subject Encyclopedias
 |
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
|
Poetry and Poetics
Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics.Call Number: Olin Reference PN1021 N39 2012+ c.2; also 501 Olin (Grad & Faculty Study Room)Publication Date: Princeton University Press, c2012. 4th ed.A revised and updated version of the major reference work for poetry. Compiled by an entirely new team of editors, this first new edition in almost twenty years reflects recent changes in literary and cultural studies, providing up-to-date coverage and giving greater attention to the international aspects of poetry, all while preserving the best of the previous volumes. [publisher] 1993 edition available online in LION.- Columbia Granger's World of PoetryCall Number: Library Annex PN4321 G75+ (old editions)"Indexes poetry in published anthologies. Contains full text of anthologized poems in the public domain, poetry excerpts from copyrighted works, and citations providing poem title, author, publisher, subject(s), and a list of anthologies in which the selected poem appears."
Encyclopedia of American Poetry. The Twentieth Century.
Call Number: Olin Reference PS323.5 E53x 2001+Publication Date: Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001"contains over 400 entries that treat a broad range of individual poets and poems, along with many articles devoted to topics, schools, or periods of American verse in the century." (publisher)
Poetry Explication Guides
- Guide to American Poetry Explication byCall Number: Olin Reference Z1231.P7 R94Publication Date: G.K. Hall, 1989In two volumes: Colonial and nineteenth century, Modern and contemporary.
Guide to British Poetry Explication by Call Number: Olin Reference Z2014.P7 M39 1991Publication Date: G.K. Hall, 1991In four volumes: v. 1. Old English, medieval; v. 2. Renaissance; v. 3. Restoration-Romantic; v. 4. Victorian-contemporary.
Poetry Explication by Call Number: Olin Reference Z2014.P7 A73 1980+Publication Date: G.K. Hall, 19803rd edition. Circulating copy also in Uris Library:Z2014.P7 A73 1980+
