COML 1105.102: Books With Big Ideas. Un-Teaching (Fall 2024): Find Background

Includes refereed entries on philosophical topics by accomplished scholars in their fields. Updated regularly.

Comprehensive resource on philosophy and related disciplines, including more than 2,700 articles on topics from Medieval philosophy to Postmodernism, and from Aesthetics to Philosophy of biology. Online version regularly updated.

Provides scholarly annotated bibliographies to major topics in philosophy, compiled by noted scholars in the field.

Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.

Authoritative scholarly encyclopedia encompassing 26 volumes.

Covers the main currents for Marxist theory and showcases interventions that set the agenda for Marxist research in the 21st century. Contains a contributions from contemporary academics, writers and theorists from around the world and across disciplines.

2 volumes; Focuses on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research.

Covers important topics, events, and persons relevant to race and ethicity in society. Also addresses other issues of inequality that intersect with race and ethnicity, including ability status, age, class, gender, and sexual orientation.

3 vols. Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modern era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Some of the nearly 400 articles address broad theoretical topics that have helped to shape modern ideas about race and racism; others address more specific subjects in the larger fields.