COML 1105.101: Books With Big Ideas: Tales of Globalization: Pasts and Futures (Fall 2024): Find Background

Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.

Contains signed, in-depth overviews of the major schools of literary theory Useful for understanding literary concepts, e.g., Postcolonial Cultural Studies, Multiculturalism, Race and Ethnicity, etc.

"Covers the history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the UK and the Republic of Ireland. Includes biographies of individual authors and topical essays with detailed analyses of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions." Table of contents.

2 volumes; Focuses on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research.

Covers both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes, including the globalization of economies and technologies; the diaspora of cultures and dispersion of peoples; the transnational aspects of social and political change; the global impact of environmental, technological, and health changes; and the organizations and issues related to global civil society.

Covers the period from 1492 to the present, including the dynamics of European conquest from Columbus to China, and critiques of colonialism. Entries are written by leading scholars in the field.

Covers important topics, events, and persons relevant to race and ethicity in society. Also addresses other issues of inequality that intersect with race and ethnicity, including ability status, age, class, gender, and sexual orientation.

3 vols. Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modern era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Some of the nearly 400 articles address broad theoretical topics that have helped to shape modern ideas about race and racism; others address more specific subjects in the larger fields.

These two volumes address the specific theories, key studies, and important figures that have influenced the field of urban studies. The Encyclopedia presents an overview of current work in the fields of urban anthropology, urban economics, urban geography, urban history, urban politics, urban psychology, and urban sociology. Provides entries on a number of cities, including those in different historical periods and regions of the world and those that have been important in the development of urban studies.

An interdisciplinary compendium of original entries focusing on the origins, evolution, and global development of contemporary social theory. Presents a comprehensive, interdisciplinary overview and analysis of all aspects of social theory

Offers explanations of the key concepts of Globalization, Including entries on concepts derived from across the social sciences, from sociology and anthropology to political science, economics, and human geography. Covers the essential topics such as agency-structure, Americanization, anti-globalization, coca-colonization, Empire; Euro crisis, ethnic cleansing, exploitation, feminization of poverty, genocide, global warming, and more. 5 volumes