Subject Encyclopedias
 |
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
|
Film Encyclopedias, Guides, and Dictionaries
Cinema Studies: the Key ConceptsCall Number: Current (2018) print edition: Olin PN1993.45 .H36 2018Publication Date: Routledge, 20002nd. edition. 150 entries explore a wide range of genres, movements, theories and production terms with depth and clarity.
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN1993.45 C75x 2001 +Publication Date: 2001"Explains the major theoretical approaches and definitions now deployed in the study of screen media. Entries range from longer overview essays which summarise the central paradigms of film and television theory, to shorter definitions of key concepts and introductions to major influential figures." (jacket copy) Includes cross-references, bibliographies, and index.
Oxford Bibliographies: Cinema and Media StudiesProvides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Routledge Companion to World CinemaPublication Date: Routledge, 2017Explores a global range of films and filmmakers, their movements and audiences, comparing their cultural, technological and political dynamics, identifying the impulses that constantly reshape the form and function of the cinemas of the world.International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
Call Number: Online (click on title above); also Olin Reference PN 1993.45 I61 2000 (print copy)Publication Date: 2000Vol. I of this four-volume set lists and describes approximately 650 international and historical films. Descriptions include production information, a cast list, a plot summary, an essay of the film's place in film history, and a lengthy bibliography. Vols. II-IV focus on Directors/Filmmakers, Actors and Actresses, and Writers and Production Assistants.
Kroch Library Asia Collections
Connected to Olin Library from the main level, the Division of Asia Collections in Kroch Library is widely regarded as having one of the largest and most significant collections of Asian historical and literary materials in North America. The Asia Collections include reference books, periodicals, newspapers, microfilms and fiche, electronic resources, as well as two levels of book stacks. Books on Asian film can be found on the Mezzanine level in the PN section.
Reference Sources for Asian Film
Palgrave Handbook of Asian CinemaPublication Date: Palgrave, 2018Offers new approaches to theorizing Asian film in relation to the history, culture, geopolitics and economics of the continent. Bringing together original essays written by established and emerging scholars, this anthology explores the diverse ways in which the cinema shapes Asia geographically and imaginatively in the world today.
Routledge Companion to Asian CinemaPublication Date: Routledge, 2024Offers fresh perspectives on Asian cinemas and charts new constellations in the field with the impact of globalization, compounded by the resurgence of a variety of nationalist discourses as well as counter-discourses, new socio-political movements, and the possibilities afforded by digital media.
Encyclopedia of Chinese FilmCall Number: Print copy: Kroch Asia Reference PN1993.5.C4 Z53x 1998Publication Date: Routledge, 1999Provides alphabetically organized entries on directors, genres, themes, and actors and actresses from mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan as well as 300 film synopses. The alphabetical entries are preceded by a substantial historical section, incorporating material on the the main studios and analysing the impact of Chinese film abroad as well as at home in recent years.
Oxford Handbook of Chinese CinemasCall Number: Print copy: Kroch Library Asia PN1993.5.C4 O94 2013Publication Date: Oxford Univ. Press, 2013Presents thirty-three essays by leading researchers and scholars. Chapters investigate the historical periodizations of the field through changing notions of national and political identity, feature studies centered on the field's taxonomical formalities, and cover the elements that comprise a work's production, distribution, and reception.
