Subject Encyclopedias
 |
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
|
Film Encyclopedias, Guides, and Dictionaries
Cinema Studies: the Key ConceptsCall Number: Current (2018) print edition: Olin PN1993.45 .H36 2018Publication Date: Routledge, 20002nd. edition. 150 entries explore a wide range of genres, movements, theories and production terms with depth and clarity.
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN1993.45 C75x 2001 +Publication Date: 2001"Explains the major theoretical approaches and definitions now deployed in the study of screen media. Entries range from longer overview essays which summarise the central paradigms of film and television theory, to shorter definitions of key concepts and introductions to major influential figures." (jacket copy) Includes cross-references, bibliographies, and index.
International Dictionary of Films and FilmmakersCall Number: Online (click on title above); also Olin Reference PN 1993.45 I61 2000 (print copy)Publication Date: 2000Lists and describes approximately 650 international and historical films and provides information on directors/filmmakers, actors, writers and production assistants.
Postcolonial Studies
Encyclopedia of Postcolonial StudiesCall Number: Olin Reference PN849.U43 E535 2016 + (print version)Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2016Covers the period from 1492 to the present, including the dynamics of European conquest from Columbus to China, and critiques of colonialism. Entries are written by leading scholars in the field.
Need a Substantive Bibliography?
Oxford Bibliographies: Cinema and Media StudiesProvides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Global Cinemas
Routledge Companion to Asian CinemaISBN: 9781032199405Publication Date: Routledge, 2024Offers fresh perspectives on Asian cinemas and charts new constellations in the field with the impact of globalization, compounded by the resurgence of a variety of nationalist discourses as well as counter-discourses, new socio-political movements, and the possibilities afforded by digital media.
Routledge Companion to World CinemaPublication Date: Routledge, 2017Explores a global range of films and filmmakers, their movements and audiences, comparing their cultural, technological and political dynamics, identifying the impulses that constantly reshape the form and function of the cinemas of the world.
Cinemas of the Global SouthPublication Date: Routledge, 2024Essays treat film as a visual medium where form, structure and content are not separable. Through a wide array of film-readings, the authors explore the concept of a southern cinematic esthetics, in particular, and the concept of the Global South in general.
A Companion to African CinemaPublication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2018Offers an overview of critical approaches to African cinema through the lens of cultural studies, contemporary transformations in the world order, the rise of globalization, film production, distribution, and exhibition.
