Essentials
BEST BETS
- APh (L'Annee Philologique)THE database of articles and books for Classical Antiquity. However, not as up to date as it could be.
- Academic Search PremierMultidisciplinary and multi-genre--scholarly journals, magazines, reports, newspapers. Lots of full text.
Recommended databases for Classics Research (redux)
- APh: L'Annee PhilologiqueCan be challenging. Expect French language. Indexes secondary articles and books on all aspects of Antiquity including literature, history, art, archaeology, science, philosophy. Use Get it! Cornell to locate full text of articles.
- Online Egyptological Bibliography : OEBAn online version and continuation of the Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB), published in print 1947-2001, combined with the Bibliographie Altägypten (BA), providing coverage of Egyptological literature from 1822 to 2002, as well as partial coverage of 2003-2008. OEB is a joint project with Aigyptos, and the number of available items will rise rapidly as Aigyptos records enter the OEB database.
- TOCS-INTables of Contents of Journals of Interests to Classicists
- Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women in the Ancient WorldIndex of articles and books.
- NestorCitations are taken from the periodical, Nestor.
- Archäologische Bibliographie ZENON-DAIIndexes archaeology scholarship.
- [Proquest] Research LibraryMultidisciplinary. Lots of full text. Newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles. Lots of full text. Not always great on medieval topics. Good for book reviews
- [Ebsco] Academic Search PremierMultidisciplinary, not specifically focused on Classics, but sometimes has the full text of recent scholarship. Good for book reviews
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)Interdisciplinary. A bit challenging to use, but more up to date citations that APh. Use Get it! Cornell to locate full text of articles.
- [Proquest] Dissertations and ThesesNorth American. 1861 to the present. Many full text online. Others available through ILL.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: LLBALLBA contains abstracts of the world's literature in linguistics and language-related research, book abstracts, book review listings, and enhanced bibliographic citations of relevant dissertations." Related disciplines such as anthropology, education, ethnology, information science, medicine, and communications are covered. Also includes some reference to papers in published conference proceedings.
- Philosopher's IndexIndexes (with abstracts) of journal articles, books, and book reviews. As of 1940. International in scope. Use "Get It Cornell" to locate full text of items. Use Get it! Cornell to locate full text of articles.
- MLA International BibliographyArticles, chapters in books, and books on all aspects of literature.
- JSTORFull text of selected scholarly journals. Excludes recent issues (3-5 years).
- Project MUSEFull text of selected journals including most recent issues.
- International Medieval Bibliography OnlineInterdisciplinary coverage of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500. Use Get it! Cornell to locate full text of articles.
- Gnomon Bibliographic Database600.000 entries of specialized literature of Classical studies, including entries on the history of scholarship. The database lists monographies, edited volumes with all contributions, journal articles, reviews, and dictionaries from all of the modern era and in all academic languages. The database is the result of a long-standing and intensive collaboration of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek/Bavarian State Library (Munich) with the University Libraries of Augsburg, Eichstätt, and Tübingen.
Classics Citation Abbreviations
In Classics scholarship, titles of journals as well as Classical texts are often highly abbreviated.
Major journals in Classics
Quick Links to Selected Online Journals in Classics
Using a database to search and browse for articles is much more powerful than searching individual journals, but most journals allow "alerts on new articles of interest" (as do many databases) or "current table of contents of new issues" which can be useful.
- American journal of philology
- Bryn Mawr classical review
- Arethusa
- Greece & Rome
- Symbolae Osloenses auspiciis Societatis Graeco-Latinae.
- The classical quarterly
- Classical philology
- Classical antiquity
- The classical review
- Mnemosyne
Quick Links to Selected Online Journal Collections in Classics:
- JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive (does not include 3-5 most recent years)
- Project Muse Collection (includes recent issues for many JSTOR journals)
- Cambridge Journals Online
- IngentaConnect Collection of online journals including many Oxford University Press titles (such as Classical Quarterly), Kluwer Academic Press titles, and Brill titles (such as Mnemosyne).
How to search for articles
The Steps:
- Find a database by browsing the list here or from the Databases link on the library homepage.
- Click on the link to get into the database
- Search the database for articles
How to access an article
Not all articles are available full text! If an article isn't available full text through a database...
- Use Get it! Cornell.
- If there is no "Get it! Cornell" link/button, search on the title of the article or book in the search box on the library homepage.
- If you cannot locate the article, Ask a Librarian!
Access Anywhere for remote access
Access Anywhere is a bookmarklet that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.
Google Scholar - Get it Cornell
- Google ScholarFor most topics, Google Scholar is still supremely inferior to using a specialized database, but if you're going to use it, adjust your Google Scholar preferences so that "Get it Cornell" shows up in your search.
"Get it Cornell" will help connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.