How to search for articles
The Steps:
- Find a database by browsing the list here or from the Databases link on the library homepage.
- Click on the link to get into the database
- Search the database for articles
How to access an article
Not all articles are available full text! If an article isn't available full text through a database...
- Use Get it! Cornell to jump into the Library Catalog to search for the journal by title (not the article title). Once you locate the journal in the Library Catalog (online or print), then determine if we have the volume/year you need
- If there is no "Get it! Cornell" link/button, take the title of the journal not the title of the article, into the Library Catalog to find the physical location and/or full text availability of the volume you need.
- If you cannot locate the article, Ask a Librarian!
Essential Databases
- APh: L'Annee PhilologiqueArticles and books about Antiquity. No full text directly, but full text access is sometimes available through "external link" at the bottom of an item's record. When it is not, use Get it Cornell or Ask a Librarian to find it.
- MLA BibliographyLiterary criticism, film criticism, language and linguistics. When the article is not visible as PDF, use Get it Cornell or Ask a Librarian to find it.
- Proquest Research LibraryMultidisciplinary. Lots of full text articles. Many peer reviewed. When the article is not visible as a PDF, use Get it Cornell or Ask a Librarian to find it.
- Art Full TextIndexes articles and books on antiques, archaeology, architectural history, art history, crafts, decorative arts, etc.
- Oxford Art OnlineExcellent articles and images. Use "find it in your library" to locate items.
- Art Index RetrospectiveIndexes books and articles on all aspects and time periods of art.
- Academic Search PremierMultidisciplinary. Lots of full text. Newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles. Lots of full text. Good for book reviews. When the article is not visible as PDF, use Get it Cornell or Ask a Librarian to find it.
- JSTORFull text of selected scholarly journals. Excludes recent issues (3-5 years).
Articles & Full text
Search a number of databases at one time by going to the Articles & Full Text link on the library homepage, or go into individual databases for your searches.
Articles & Full Text searches articles, ebooks, audio files, and video files. It does not search the library catalog (print b
ooks and other physical items).
Use the Library Catalog for print books. Also, this system doesn't search all library resources. For comprehensive, or focused searching, go to the Databases link to find subject-specific databases.
Classics Citation Abbreviations
In Classics scholarship, titles of journals as well as Classical texts are often highly abbreviated.
Access Anywhere for remote access
Access Anywhere is a bookmarklet that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.
Google Scholar - Get it Cornell
For most topics, Google Scholar is still supremely inferior to using a specialized database, but if you're going to use it, adjust your Google Scholar preferences so that "Get it Cornell" shows up in your search.
"Get it Cornell" will help connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.