Tips
Encyclopedias are great for:
- choosing a topic
- quick self-education
- perspective on a topic
- variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
- bibliography
Classics Citation Abbreviations
In Classics scholarship, titles of journals as well as Classical texts are often highly abbreviated.
Language Dictionaries
Classical Studies
-
Oxford Classical Dictionary. 5th edition.Much more than a dictionary. An excellent source for sources on all aspects of the Classical World.
-
Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO): ClassicsIn progress. Annotated sources.
-
Brill's New PaulyAn aid for the study of Greek and Roman culture and its multifaceted presence in all periods of European and, since the Early Modern period, world history. Entries offer easy, direct access to basic information - names, places, dates, objects - from all areas of Greek and Roman culture as well as their predecessors, neighbours and heirs.
-
Oxford Art OnlineExcellent articles and images.
-
The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization by Publication Date: 2014- -
Ancient Writers: Greece & Rome by Call Number: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) + PA3002 .A54Publication Date: 1982 -
A Companion to Classical Receptions by Publication Date: 2008 -
The Encyclopedia of Greek TragedyPublication Date: 2013Covers all facets of the distinct form of dramatic theater that flourished in ancient Greece with its apex in the 5th century BCE.
Mythology Encyclopedias
-
Early Greek Myth: a guide to literary and artistic sources by Call Number: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) BL782 .G34 1996Publication Date: 1996 -
Funk and Wagnall's Standard Dictionary of Folklore, Mythology, and Legend by Call Number: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) + GR35 .F98 1984Publication Date: 1984-09-26 -
Gods and Heroes: a quick guide to the occupations, associations and experiences of the Greek and Roman gods and heroes by Call Number: Olin Library BL715 .H29Publication Date: 1977-08-01 -
Encyclopedia of Ancient DeitiesCall Number: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) Oversize BL473 .C68 2000 -
The Oxford Companion to World Mythology by Publication Date: 2005 -
A Dictionary of Creation Myths by Publication Date: 1996 -
Encyclopedia of ReligionPublication Date: 2005 -
The Reception of Myth and Mythology (Brill's New Pauly Supplement 1, vol 4)Publication Date: 201
Modern film and literature
-
Literature Resource Center (LRC)A literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism).
