Olin Reference Collection
Subject encyclopedias are a GREAT place to start your research!
Full-text Reference Sources
Use these reference databases to find and access articles in a variety of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library [Restricted to Cornell campus use] Provides the full text of many encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and directories.
Subject Encyclopedias
Here's a sampling of subject encyclopedias on American history and literature:
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas by ISBN: 0684314525Publication Date: 2004-12-01From abolitionism to Zionism, this encyclopedia clarifies the intellectual history of more than 750 complex ideas of concern to people today. Covers core Western ideas, while expanding its coverage to include the 'global perspectives and gender-inclusive' concepts that have evolved in the past 30 years.
Oxford English Dictionary by Call Number: Online. Also Olin Ref PE1625.M98ISBN: 0198611862The OED presents in alphabetical series the words that have formed the English vocabulary from the time of the earliest records down to the present day, with all the relevant facts concerning their form, sense-history, pronunciation, and etymology.
Cambridge Guide to English Literature by Call Number: Olin Ref PR l9 C17+ISBN: 0521260221Covering more than a thousand years, it includes the literature of Great Britain, the United States, Australia, Canada and New Zealand. It also includes the English writing from Ireland and South Africa and contributions from the West Indies and Nigeria since World War II. Entries are for authors, individual works of literature, main characters in novels and plays, relevant historical events and technical literary terms. Illustrated.
Dictionary of American history by Call Number: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) E174 .D52x 2003 +ISBN: 0684805332Cross-listed, illustrated entries aimed at college students. Volume 10 includes a six-page guide that provides tips on historical research. The dictionary does not contain biographical entries.
Also OnlineEncyclopedia of American cultural & intellectual history by
Call Number: E169.1 .E624x 2001ISBN: 0684805618A 3-volume encyclopedia that attempts “to comprehend the ever-changing character and rich variety of American thought and expression.” (Introduction) Includes articles on advertising, media, visual arts, and technology.Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by
Call Number: Olin Library Reference HN57 .E594 2004 +ISBN: 0765680459Excellent overviews provided for a wide range of American social movements. Each article includes a bibliography of additional sources.
A Historical Guide to the U.S. Government by Call Number: Olin Ref + JK 9 H57x 1998ISBN: 0195102304More encyclopedia than guide, this work gives excellent background for those doing more historical research of the US government.
Finding Subject Encyclopedias
There are many, many subject encyclopedias housed on the first floor of OLIN Library. First, try using the Gale Virtual Reference Library. If you don't find one that's right for your topic, try Reference Universe. You can also consult the Cornell Library Guide to Encyclopedias Online.