Online Encyclopedias (Cornell Users Only)
- Cambridge Histories OnlineProvides full text online access to the complete 300-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryProvides searchable full-text e-book versions of many reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias in a wide range of subject areas.
- Oxford African American Studies CenterThis database focuses on the lives and events which have shaped African American, African and Caribbean culture and history.
Selected Reference Books
The Encyclopedia of Caribbean Religions by Call Number: Africana Library Reference BL2565 .E54 2013The Encyclopedia of Caribbean Religions is the definitive reference for Caribbean religious phenomena from a Caribbean perspective. Generously illustrated, this landmark project combines the breadth of a comparative approach to religion with the depth of understanding of Caribbean spirituality as an ever-changing and varied historical phenomenon.
Reggae and Caribbean Music by Call Number: Music Library ML102.P66 T46x 2002More than a listener's guide this book reveals the rich historical development of a regional music that is now embraced worldwide. Packed with incisive essays ratings and reviews of 2 700 recordings plus fantastic photos and engaging biographies this guide captures the allure of reggae calypso dancehall rock steady soca and other evocative styles of the entire English-speaking Caribbean region past and present. Featured artists include: Bob Marley and the Wailers Jimmy Cliff Peter Tosh Lord Kitchener Arrow Lee Scratch Perry Buju Banton Brother Resistance Prince Buster David Rudder Wailing Souls and many others.
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora by Call Number: Africana Library Reference DT16.5 .E53 2008The authoritative source for information on the people, places, and events of the African Diaspora, spanning five continents and five centuries. Drawing on the work of over 300 scholars, this encyclopedia fills that void. Now the researcher, from high school level up, can go to a single reference for information on the historical, political, economic, and cultural relations between people of African descent and the rest of the world community.Peoples of the Caribbean: An Encyclopedia of Archeology and Traditional Culture by
Call Number: Olin Library Reference Oversize; + F1619 .S38 2005Archaeologist Nicholas J. Saunders assembles for the first time a comprehensive sourcebook on the archaeology, folklore, and mythology of the entire region, charting a story 7,000 years in the making. Drawing on decades of study in the Caribbean and South America, Saunders explores landmark archaeological sites, such as Caguana in Puerto Rico, with its ceremonial architecture and ballcourts, and plantation sites, such as Jamaica's Drax Hall.South America, Central America, and the Caribbean
Call Number: Africana Library Reference F 1401 S72Published annually, South America, Central America, and the Caribbean brings together a unique combination of the latest data on, and detailed analysis of, a vast region. Scrupulously updated by Europa s experienced editors, the volume also includes contributions from regional specialists.
