Background Research on Arbitration
-
Alternative Dispute Resolution HandbookFrom the U.S. Office of Personnel Management, the Guide provides an overall picture of how the most common forms of ADR are being implemented in Federal agencies. It summarizes a number of current ADR programs, and it includes descriptions of shared neutrals programs where agencies have collaborated to reduce the costs of ADR. It provides a listing of training and resources available from Federal and non-Federal sources. It also provides selected ADR-related web sites.
-
Alternative Dispute Resolution (LII)Provides a nice overview and links to applicable laws, from the Cornell Legal Information Institute.
-
Labor & Employment Practice Center (Bloomberg Law)Bloomberg BNA Labor & Employment Law Resource Center is a searchable database which provides access to various types of legal information about labor issues in the United States.
-
CyberFEDSCyberFEDS provides access to federal employment news, trends, case decisions, policies, and guidance and is a comprehensive and searchable database of summaries and full-text decisions issued by the EEOC, FLRA, MSPB, Comptroller General, OGE and related courts.
-
How Arbitration Works by Call Number: ILR Library KF3424 .E53 2016ISBN: 1682670570Publication Date: 2016-11-01This text is the most comprehensive and authoritative treatise available on this subject. Considered a reference of first resort, it has been utilized and cited by advocates, arbitrators, and judges more than any other arbitration book published.
-
Guide to ADRSponsored by Lex Mundi, an association of independent law firms, this page is a comprehensive site with extensive links to all areas of ADR, both national and international. Publications, daily news updates, commentary, laws and regulations, state, federal, and agency links are included.
-
LawMemo.com: National Arbitration CenterOne of the few places online where arbitrators' decisions are available. Also has a directory of labor arbitrators by state.
-
Lexis+ (Lexis Plus)ILR School only.
Full version of LexisNexis. Available only by creating username and password after training by Catherwood staff. Formerly Lexis Advance. -
LLRX: Researching Labor Arbitration and Alternative Dispute Resolution in EmploymentBy Suzanne Thorpe, Professor of Legal Research Instruction and Laura J. Cooper, Stewart and Mario Thomas McClendon Professor in Law and Alternative Dispute Resolution, University of Minnesota Law School. This guide lists sources that discuss arbitration and other means of employment dispute resolution in unionized and nonunionized settings.
Researching Arbitration
-
Labor & Employment Practice Center (Bloomberg Law)Formerly the Bloomberg BNA Labor & Employment Law Resource Center, the Bloomberg Law Labor & Employment Practice Center is a searchable database which provides access to various types of legal information about labor issues in the United States. Has sections called: Daily labor report, Disabilities law, Discrimination law, Individual employment rights, Labor arbitration & collective bargaining, Labor relations, Occupational safety, Wages, hours, and leave. Also includes: Affirmative action compliance manual for federal contractors, Affirmative action compliance newsletter, Americans with Disabilities Act manual, Americans with Disabilities Act manual. Newsletter, Collective bargaining negotiations and contracts, Collective bargaining bulletin, Construction labor report, Daily labor report, Employment discrimination report, Employment law practice tools, EEOC compliance manual, EEO compliance newsletter, Government employee relations report, International labor and employment laws (3rd ed.), Labor relations week, Workplace immigration report, Workplace law report, Verdicts and settlements.
-
Lexis+ (Lexis Plus)ILR School only.
Full version of LexisNexis. Available only by creating username and password after training by Catherwood staff. Formerly Lexis Advance. -
LawMemo.com: National Arbitration CenterOne of the few places online where arbitrators' decisions are available. Also has a directory of labor arbitrators by state.
-
Westlaw classicCatherwood Library only. Ask for Login assistance at ILR Reference Desk.
Formerly known as Arbsearch, Public Employment Law on the Web, and WestlawNext, Westlaw Classic contains subject classifications, summaries, and/or full text of public and private sector labor arbitration awards from the 1950s to the present.
NOTE: this version of Westlaw only contains arbitration resources and Public Employee Reporters.