LibGuides: Locating Evidence in the Agricultural Sciences: Finding Statistics

Using data

The U.S. Department of Agriculture and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations collect data to support your grant proposals, writing assignments and digital projects. Explore the following databases to locate statistics and and data on your topic(s).

Food & Agriculture Division of the U.N. Statistical Division

The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Statistics Division(FAOStat) provides free and easy access to data for 245 countries and 35 regional areas from 1961 through the most recent year available. You can browse or download statistical data by subject, item and year.

Search

To search for a particular dataset, you can select the category that you are interested in (such as "Production") then select the item that you are interested in (such as "sugar cane)" and then select the time that interest you (such as "1990 to present").

FAO Website

USDA Economics, Statistics & Market Information System

The Quickstats program managed by the National Agricultural Statistical Service of the USDA provides crop and other commodity data at the state, county and zip code level. It's easy-to-use interface allows comparisons across time and region.

The USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System (ESMIS) managed by Mann Library contains more than 2700 reports and datasets produced by the USDA. The Annual Crop Progress Report provides acreage, yield and production data at the crop level.

CountrySTAT

The commodity price database disseminates up-to-date information on prices of agricultural commodities, including bananas, wheat and corn among other things. Commodites continue to be added and the current database includes weekly data, monthly and annual averages.

Search

To search for a particular data report, you should select the commodity, desired report type, and year of interest. Some commodities that were recently added may only have current data available.

Website