Symbol Key
Free web sites available to all
Cornell Community - available to entire Cornell community
Law School Computers - available only using Law School workstations
Personal Account - law students and faculty access using personal accounts. Contact lawref@cornell.edu for more information.
UN Convention Against Torture
- Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or PunishmentUN Treaty Collection: Treaty Status, Charts with dates of signature/ratification by country. Information about Declarations and Reservations. Links to certified true copies of the convention and amendments.
Cases
In addition to the sources of case law mentioned in the Immigration Law research guide, these websites offer United States, foreign, and international cases (or case summaries) about refugees, asylum law, and human rights from many different countries.
- Asylum Case Law SourcebookBy David A. Martin with Gerald Seipp. Digests United States asylum cases beginning in 1980. Summaries provide full case citation, country of origin of the asylum seeker, and summary of the holding.
- RefNotesU. Michigan Law School RefLAW summaries of court decisions. "RefLaw.org is an online forum offering critical analysis on important new cases, legislation, and emerging issues in refugee law. We publish both longer articles analyzing the implications of law or policy, as well as shorter notes on global current events that may impact refugee law."
- UNHCR RefworldVast collection of materials pertinent to asylum and refugee law. Includes country information, international treaties and other materials, policy documents, handbooks, and training materials.
- Center for Gender & Refugee StudiesFocuses on cases where gender is the basis for seeking asylum. UC Hastings.
- Oxford Reports on International LawContains domestic cases in international law from over 65 jurisdictions and cases on international criminal law and international human rights law. Features expert commentary, full texts of judgments in their original language and translations of key passages of non-English judgments into English. Archive includes cases dating back to 2000. Offers multiple options for searching or browsing decisions by country, keyword, or full text search. User may sign up for free case alerts via e-mail.
