- FactivaThe Newsstand section on the default home page of Factiva shows the last two weeks of the following news sources—every article, mainly plain text (some graphics)—New York Times, Wall Street Journal (U.S. edition, Europe edition, and Asia edition), Washington Post, Investor’s Business Daily, and the BBC. The Library subscribes to this database, so all Cornell has access.
The content of all publications covered in Factiva is also searchable. Click on the Search button in the top bar.
- Nexis UniAn interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- CQ MagazineCQ Magazine provides nonpartisan coverage of the U.S. Congress: congressional legislation, commission reports, presidential talks and appointments, and even information about birth dates, religious affiliation and occupation of senators and representatives. One of the best and most current of all publications dealing with government action. Covers Congress in depth, but also includes information on the executive and judicial branches of government.
- Library Press DisplayDatabase. Full-color, full-text online versions of some major print newspaper titles, over 700 titles from 55 countries. Use the Publications by Country menu at left to choose USA, France, etc. More reliable sources are displayed first. Use discretion in picking from these news sources; many popular magazines and non-news sources are now included. The last 90 days is available with some exceptions (Chicago Tribune, last 4 days available, for example).
- National JournalFormerly National Journal Group's Policy Central. Daily updates and reviews of actions and events throughout the Federal Government, including the White House, Federal departments and agencies, Congress, and the Courts.
- Washington PostOnline access to color PDFs of the print Washington Post for the last 90 days (except Sunday) are available in Library Press Display. Current and recent articles (last 2 weeks) from the Washington Post in plain text format are available on Factiva’s Newsstand page.
Additional access provided through the library catalog.
- NPR (National Public Radio)National Public Radio is an American privately and publicly funded non-profit media organization based in Washington, D.C. NPR differs from other non-profit membership media organizations, such as AP, in that it was established by an act of Congress and most of its member stations are owned by government entities.
- World Politics ReviewContinuously updated. Articles provide analysis of trends and events in international affairs. Published entirely online, WPR's original articles are written by a network of analysts, journalists, and scholars. Articles cover diplomacy, military affairs, energy, economics and related subjects.