Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ILR Research Tools
ILR Subject Guides
Library guides in ILR subject areas containing links to ILR databases, websites, and research tools.
ILR Databases at Cornell
Select Human Resources, Labor, and Employment databases at Cornell.
Welcome, ILR students!
This guide is designed for incoming BSILR, MILR, and PhD students at Cornell. It will introduce you to top resources for researching topics broadly related to labor and employment relations and human resource management.
Top ILR Resources
ABI/Inform, an extensive international business and management database, contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text of articles appearing in professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide.
Labor & Employment Practice Center (Bloomberg Law)
Bloomberg BNA Labor & Employment Law Resource Center is a searchable database which provides access to various types of legal information about labor issues in the United States.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,800 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for top scholarly journals, including the Harvard Business Review. It also includes industry and country reports from Euromonitor and company and industry reports from Datamonitor.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.--About Google scholar.
HR & Payroll Resource Center
Bloomberg BNA's HR & Payroll Resource Center contains the Human Resources Library, Payroll Library, and Compensation & Benefits Library, and provides practical, comprehensive, and timely coverage of workplace issues of interest to HR professionals, consultants, and attorneys.
Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM)
The website of this major U.S. association for HR practitioners provides a wealth of information for its members and for the public. Additional electronic content is available at the ILR Library. Please ask for assistance at the ILR Reference Desk.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision–making.