Subscription Resources
- Human Resources (Bloomberg Law)Starting point for HR practitioners. HR policies, laws and regulations. Practical guidance and tools, surveys and reports. Tabs across top include United States, International, Payroll, and News.
- Labor & Employment Practice Center (Bloomberg Law)A searchable database which provides access to various types of legal information about labor issues in the United States.
- Hein OnlineContains a variety of full text national and international legal sources.
- Lexis+ (Lexis Plus)ILR School only.
Full version of LexisNexis. Available only by creating username and password after training by Catherwood staff. Formerly Lexis Advance.
Federal Laws Handout
- Understanding LawsHandout created by Stuart Basefsky on understanding laws and regulations, and important resources for learning more.
Free Public Policy Resources
- CQ Electronic LibraryCQ’s authoritative and balanced coverage of public affairs includes the CQ Researcher, CQ Weekly, CQ Public Affairs Collection, CQ Voting and Elections Collection, CQ Congress Collection and the CQ Encyclopedia of American Government. Includes increased
- Proquest CongressionalProvides users with access to a comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information. Includes full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, public laws and other research materials. The database is an effective source for general research in many academic disciplines, in addition to research related to specific legislative proposals and laws. Researchers can access information about Congress, including member biographical and committee assignment information, voting records, and financial data.
- Congressional Budget OfficeThe Congressional Budget Office is a small nonpartisan agency that produces policy analyses, cost estimates of legislation, and budget and economic projections that serve as a basis for the Congress's decisions about spending and taxes.
- U.S. Government Accountability OfficeThe U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is known as "the investigative arm of Congress" and "the congressional watchdog." It publishes comprehensive analysis and reports on hot policy topics.
- Congressional Research Service (CRS) ReportsCongressional Research Service (CRS) reports provide Congress with both anticipatory and on-demand research and analysis to support their legislative, oversight, and representational duties. All reports adhere to the core values of CRS; they are authoritative, objective and nonpartisan. Reports range in length from several pages to more than one-hundred pages and cover the full breadth of topics of interest to Congress. This collection provides the public with access to recent research products produced by the CRS. CRS reports are timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis for committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of political party affiliation.
- CRS - Congressional Research Reports Collection at UNTThe U.S. Congressional Research Service (CRS) is where Members of Congress turn for confidential, nonpartisan research and analysis on a range of issues. A number of libraries and non-profit organizations have sought to collect as many of the released reports as possible. UNT's collection is a centralized utility that brings together these collections to search.
- DatabasesThis page includes specialized databases that are not available from the home page articles search.
Contact Us
ILR Research Team
Contact:
ilrref@cornell.edu
Martin P. Catherwood Library
Ives Hall
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853-3901
Website
Martin P. Catherwood Library
Ives Hall
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853-3901
Subjects: Economics, Human Resources, Labor & Employment