More Hospitality Industry Guides
Books
- Sustainability in Tourism a Multidisciplinary ApproachThis ebook is available in full-text online. Today travel and tourism have evolved beyond an annual trip to the seaside. The age of mass tourism, whilst making travel affordable for all societal groups, has also created environmental problems on both a micro and macro level. A key question is therefore how can tourism be made more sustainable? Under the broad umbrella of sustainable development, this book examines sustainable tourism by taking into account factors such as media, business profitability, educational inclusiveness, political and community needs, medical tourism and aspects of sustainable labeling and marketing. Furthermore, each author offers perspectives on methods that industry and governments might employ to create more sustainable practices and policies.
Who's Buying for Travel by Call Number: ILR G155.U6 W46.2013"Based on unpublished data collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Consumer Expenditure Survey, the report examines how much Americans spend on travel by the demographics that count—age, income, high-income households, household type, region of residence, race and Hispanic origin, and education. To round out the spending picture, it also presents “who-are-the-best-customers” analyses of the data, showing the demographics of spending at a glance. The items examined in this report include airline fares, lodging on trips, food and alcohol on trips, auto rental on trips, luggage, recreational expenses on trips, ship fares, etc."
Overbooked by Call Number: ILR: G155.A1 B382 2013Publication Date: 2013Tourism, fast becoming the largest global business, employs one out of twelve persons and produces $6.5 trillion of the world's economy. In a groundbreaking book, Elizabeth Becker uncovers how what was once a hobby has become a colossal enterprise with profound impact on countries, the environment, and cultural heritage. This invisible industry exploded at the end of the Cold War. In 2012 the number of tourists traveling the world reached one billion.
Travel and Tourism by Call Number: ILR: G155.A1 S53 2006Publication Date: 2006An accessible introduction to the subject that will help readers extend their understanding of key concepts and enhance their thinking skills in line with course requirements. It provides support on how to revise for exams, how to present calculations and how to prepare for and write assessed pieces.
Marketing in Travel and Tourism by Call Number: ILR: G155.A1 M475 2009Publication Date: 2009Marketing in Travel and Tourism aims to guide and support readers through the complexities of tourism marketing in the 21st Century. Each chapter of the book has been updated to include current evaluations of all the key developments in marketing, especially consumer centric marketing and the now focal role of the Internet in the marketing mix. The chapters on communicating with customers have been extensively rewritten to take account of e-marketing and related marketing developments in tourism.
United States Travel and Tourism Industry by Call Number: ILR: G155.U6 U573 2011Publication Date: 2011The U.S. travel and tourism sector, the main economic and employment engine in a number of states, suffered a steep decline in 2008 and 2009 as the nation sank into recession. Though the United States remained the world's top travel destination by dollar value, spending by foreign visitors in the country plunged 15% in 2009. Travel and tourism, which account for 6% of U.S. employment, began to rebound in 2010. This new book examines the U.S. travel and tourism industry today and the challenges and issues for the future
A Dictionary of Travel and Tourism Terminology by Call Number: ILR: G155.A1 B38 2005Publication Date: 2005Provides over 7,000 definitions of travel and tourism terminology used throughout the world, highlighting the many differences between US and European usage. It covers all aspects of the tourism industry, including hospitality, transport, and ancillary services. It explains the operating language of the travel industry, acronyms and abbreviations of organizations, associations and trade bodies, IT terms and brand names, and provides website addresses. This new edition contains over 500 new entries.
Access by Call Number: ILR: G155.5 .M345 2005Publication Date: 2004This is the first introductory textbook/workbook conceived to address the new realities of the travel industry. Access provides an overview of all sections of the business. The author has taken a highly practical approach, ensuring that readers acquire all the facts, insight and insider knowledge they must know to succeed in the travel industry. It is full of up-to-date, real-world industry terminology and can serve as a sturdy foundation for all future travel studies.
Strategic Management for Travel and Tourism by Call Number: ILR: G155.A1 S685 2003Publication Date: 2003Brings theory to life by using industry-based case studies. Topics included in this edition are: * international case studies from large-scale businesses such as Airtours, MyTravel and South West Airlines * user-friendly applications of strategic management theory, together with illustrative case studies, and longer case studies for seminar work and summaries * contemporary strategic issues affecting travel and tourism organizations, such as vertical integration and strategic alliances .
Worldwide Destinations: the Geography of Travel and Tourism by Call Number: ILR: 155.A1 B553 2012Publication Date: 2012A unique text that explores the demand, supply, organisational aspects and resources of every tourism destination in the world. This edition is brought up to date with key features such as: An exploration of current issues such as climate change, economic capacity, "grey" tourism and social impacts New full color interior, packed with helpful pedagogic features, including discussion points and assignments to encourage greater student involvement.
Travel and Tourism Public Relations by Call Number: ILR: G155.A1 D48 2005Publication Date: 2011The opening chapter explains the recent growth of industry PR, and travel & tourism news coverage which today focuses on the considerable economic benefits of the industry. Additionally, it reviews the leading news media that covers the industry, the primary PR tools and audiences, and details the factors leading to PR's new prominence across the industry. It also provides informative sidebars with lists of key industry print media, top travel agencies.
Travel and Tourism by Call Number: ILR: G155.A1 B543 2008Publication Date: 2007This book will lead readers through the economic fundamentals of each sector, examine travel and tourism's domestic and global impact and provide some of the basic tools necessary for decision-making in the industry; Learning Objectives; End of chapter summaries; Margin glossaries; Website listings; Interviews with industry leaders; etc.
Travel and Tourism in the United States by Call Number: ILR: G155.U6 T6766 2012Publication Date: 2013This book examines the travel and tourism industry in the United States which are critical to the American economy. This growing industry offers significant potential for job creation across all regions of the country. Federal policies on matters ranging from national security to transportation and from trade to natural resources management affect travel and tourism, and its potential for growth. In a global economy, a range of businesses depend on travel and tourism policies to enable clients, customers, and colleagues to conduct business in the United States.
Tourism by Call Number: ILR: G155.A1 M386 2012Publication Date: 2012Explores major concepts in tourism, what makes tourism possible, and how tourism can become an important factor in the wealth of any nation. It is written in global terms, making it appropriate not only in the US but also for our subsidiary markets. It provides an overview of the principles, practices, and philosophies that affect the cultural, social, economic, psychological, and marketing aspects of human travel and the tourism industry. It looks at all aspects of the industry that serves travelers.
World Geography of Travel and Tourism by Call Number: ILR: G155.A1 L49 2008Publication Date: 2008World Geography of Travel and Tourism addresses the need to understand the cultural, environmental, historical and political context in which international tourism takes place. The expert author team has included major themes and issues in tourism, and positioned them in a regional context. In this way, this text takes a major step into a more analytical approach to global tourism while still providing a clear account of the geography of travel and tourism.
Travel Connections: Tourism, Technology, and Togetherness in a Mobile World by Call Number: ILR: HM742 .M65 2012Publication Date: 2012Many of us now rely on mobile devices, social media, and networking technologies to coordinate togetherness with our social networks even when we are apart. Nowhere is this phenomenon more evident than in the emerging practices of 'interactive travel'. Travel Connections prompts a rethinking of the key paradigms in tourism studies in the digital age. Interactive travel calls into question longstanding tourism concepts such as landscape, the tourist gaze, hospitality, authenticity and escape.
Careers in Travel, Tourism, and Hospitality by Call Number: ILR: G155.5 .E24 2006Publication Date: 2005It takes a lot of time and effort to prepare for a profession in the travel, tourism, or hospitality fields and this book takes you every step of the way to reaching that goal. Ideal whether you are college-bound or are ready to go back to school to gain the necessary degree, Careers in Travel, Tourism, & Hospitality explores specific professions and then helps you determine which job in that profession bests suits you.
Food and Wine Tourism by Call Number: ILR: G155.A1 C74516 2010Publication Date: 2010If food and wine tourism is well planned, managed and controlled, it can become a real economic resource. This text explores how food-producing regions present themselves to tourists experiencing the culture, history and ambience of a location through the food and wine it produces. The book takes a practical approach, discussing how to establish a food-related tourism destination, how to evolve from purely a food producer to a tourism operator. It also covers management practices such as producing marketing material, and considerations of sustainability and quality assessment.
