Egypt in Transition, February 2011 to present
While the Egyptian people succeeded in overthrowing Mubarak from power, the Supreme Council of Armed Forces (SCAF) continues to run the country in a transition period marked by violence and instability. This page lists resources on the Parliamentary Elections, SCAF, and events like the Maspero massacre and the football riot in Port Said.
Tantawi is Mubarak - الكلف ما ماتش. Street grafitti. Photo by Gigi Ibrahim. Source: Flickr.
"Politics, Popular Culture and the 2011 Egyptian Revolution" is a digital archive documenting the 25 January 2011 uprising and its aftermath through the prism of popular culture. It has been designed for both researchers and students interested in the 2011 Egyptian revolution, as well as contemporary Egypt and the relationship between politics and popular culture more broadly.
Background, Timeline, Maps Post-January 25 revolution
“Arrays of Egyptian and Tunisian Everyday Worlds. An update on the project ‘In 2016—How it felt to live in the Arab World five years after the “Arab Spring”’. Journal of Arabic and Islamic Studies 17 (2017): 455-508 (open access).
- Broken Promises: Egypt's military rulers erode human rights (Amnesty International)62-page report documents a "woeful performance on human rights by the Supreme Council of Armed Forces (SCAF) which assumed power after the fall of former President Hosni Mubarak in February."
- Egypt in Transition (Chatham House)Reports, Videos, and Podcasts.
- EgyptSource - Following Egypt's Transition (Atlantic Council)Project of the Rafik Hariri Center for the Middle East. "Follows Egypt’s transition and provides a platform for Egyptian perspectives on the major issues – economic, political, legal, religious and human rights – that are at stake in the post-Mubarak era."
- Guide to Egypt's Transition (Carnegie Endowment for International Peace)Provides "background assessing the developments that will shape Egypt’s political future and analysis from experts at the Carnegie Middle East Program in Washington and at the Carnegie Middle East Center in Beirut." Includes background on Egypt's political parties, opposition movements, legal framework, and personalities.
- Timeline: Transition in Egypt (Washington Post)Key events leading up to the first presidential election since the ouster of President Hosni Mubarak.
- Year of Rebellion: The State of Human Rights in the Middle East and North Africa (Amnesty International Report)This report describes the events of 2011.
Elections & Political Parties
- Aswat Masriya أصوات مصريةElections site in Arabic launched by the Thomson Reuters Foundation. "Aims to provide fair, independent and accurate news and information to journalists, voters and the public at large in the run-up to the 2011 and 2012 parliamentary and presidential elections."
- Egypt Elections Watch (Jadaliyya)Covers political parties & movements, candidates, and laws.
- IFES Election Guide - EgyptProvided by the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES), an international nonprofit dedicated to strengthening electoral democracy.
- Infographic: Egypt elections explained (Al Jazeera English)Outlines Egypt's complex election process.
- Map and List of Egyptian Political Parties - 1st Phase of Parliamentary Elections, Nov. 28, 2011Posted on The Arabist blog. "Jacopo Carbonari has updated his map to include only essential parties that are on the full list of candidates made available by the Higher Electoral Committee. The full document now also includes which governorates the various parties are fielding candidate." English and Arabic versions.
- The Egypt ElectionnaireProject by the Arabic Network for Human Rights Information (ANHRI) and MICT (Media in Cooperation and Transition). Covers political parties and election issues.
Keyword Search Terms & Phrases
The following are suggested terms (keywords) useful in catalog, database, and web searching.
- Supreme Council of Armed Forces (SCAF)
- Field Marshall Tantawi
- The Muslim Brotherhood / Muslim Brothers
- Freedom and Justice Party
- civil society
- Egyptian protests
- football / soccer riot