Top Business Research Resources
The databases and resources below are some our most popular and comprehensive for company and industry related research. Please explore the resources contained in this guide and don't hesitate to contact us if you have any questions.
- Business Source CompleteBusiness Source Complete provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,800 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for top scholarly journals, including the Harvard Business Review. It also includes industry and country reports from Euromonitor and company and industry reports from Datamonitor.
To find SWOTs in Business Source Complete: Search for a Company name in the first search box, and "SWOT" or "Company Profile" in the second search box. - ABI/InformABI/Inform, an extensive international business and management database, contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text of articles appearing in professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide. ABI/Inform covers the areas of accounting, banking, computers, economics, engineering management, communications, finance, health care, human resources, insurance, international trends, law, management, marketing, public administration, real estate, taxation, transportation.
- Mergent IntellectMergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B's private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
Mergent Intellect also provides access to First Research Industry Profiles. These reports contain critical analysis, statistics and forecasts, covering over 1000 industry segments. Updated on a monthly basis. - OrbisProvides access to company information and financial data for more than 275 million companies worldwide. Users can screen for companies based on geography, financial performance, industry, deals, ownership structure, number of employees, year of incorporation, and other criteria. Orbis is an excellent source for private company information, especially in international markets.
- PitchBookSearch thousands of private equity and venture capital deals by hundreds of criteria. Use PitchBook to establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details. Users must create an account using your Cornell email address. Log in > Log in with SSO > [Cornell email address].
- MSCI ESG DirectA comprehensive research database, measuring the environmental, social and governance (ESG) performance of corporations. The web-based database contains ESG and controversial business involvement research on more than 4,000 companies in 50+ global markets. The database provides over 200 ESG indicators and over 2,000 ESG points. It provides continuous global coverage for involvement in controversial lines of business, such as nuclear power, tobacco, and weapons. Previously known as ESG Manager on Campus.
- IBISWorldIBISWorld provides industry research reports and profiles for over 700 United States industries as well as a wide range of industries in China. Business reports for five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data. Each report provides key statistics, market characteristics and segmentation, industry conditions, leading competitors, industry performance analysis and future outlook.
- Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly Reference USA)Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly Reference USA) is an extensive source of company profiles that includes records for public and private companies in the United States and Canada. Company data is frequently updated and phone verified. Some historical company data is available back through the mid-1990's. There are also U.S. and Canadian White Pages, data about U.S. Consumers, data about U.S. physicians and dentists, and data about U.S. jobs and internships.
- Nexis UniAn interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Capital IQCapital IQ includes industry surveys (trends, operations, industry specific information on analyzing companies it that space, and ratios) and high-level overviews of industries, financial markets, and regional economies. Ideal for researching companies (both public and private), deals (M&A and security issuance), and private equity and venture capital deals. Capital IQ is available at selected terminals in Management, ILR, and Mann libraries.
- FactivaFull-text online service for international news and business information. Covers over 28,000 sources in 23 languages in more than 150 countries. Some company and market research is included. Factiva includes full-text coverage of the Wall Street Journal.
- Business Insights, EssentialsExtensive reference content from Gale's core business collection; easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports; industry rankings, profiles, market share data, company histories, and more.
- WorkspaceWorkspace (from Refinitiv) is a financial research platform that provides company financials, market data, transaction data, and analyst reports (Aftermarket Research). Students, faculty, and staff will need to register for an account using a Cornell email address.
Additional Company & Industry Research Resources
- BizminerProvides detailed industry analysis and market research reports on more than 16,000 lines of business in national and local markets. Their many uses include valuation, business plans, due diligence and competitive benchmarking. Industry reports cover profit and loss, balance sheets, financial ratios, start-up trends, and more. Financial reports allow you to compare businesses in a specific sales class and geographic area to industry average benchmarks and competitors.
- CARDS Franchise Registrations (Minnesota Department of Commerce)CARDS is a searchable database which includes franchise agreements and annual reports for many major US franchisors maintained by the Minnesota Department of Commerce.
- Edgar (SEC)All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database. Filings cover 1996-present.
- GuideStar PremiumSearchable directory that provides detailed information on more than 850,000 nonprofit (501) organizations. Profiles cover mission and programs, financials, leaders, and most importantly, full text via PDF of the charity's IRS 990 filing from 1998 forward in most cases. Form 990 provides information on revenues, expenses, programs, activities, executive salaries and board members. Parts of the database are only available to licensed institutions, but the site contains significant free content. Access to some free content requires registration
- International Trade AdministrationThe International Trade Administration (ITA) strengthens the competitiveness of U.S. industry, promotes trade and investment, and ensures fair trade through the enforcement of trade laws and agreements. ITA works to improve the global business environment and helps U.S. organizations compete at home and abroad.
- PassportExcellent resource for international industries, countries, markets, and products. Market research reports, statistics, and analyst reports cover consumer market sizes, country market data, forecasts, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands, and many product & location specific reports.
- Research Insights (Conference Board)Research Insights (or Business Managment Research) is a searchable database of full-text research reports on the latest issues in business management and US and global economics. Proprietary, nonbiased research includes studies of F500 companies on business trends, leadership decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, HR, productivity, CRM and more. Economics material includes US and global economic indicators and analysis and forecasts of regional, national, and international economic conditions.
- UniworldThe authoritative source of information on multinational firms operating around the world. U.S. companies listed have a substantial investment in overseas operations--wholly or partially owned subsidiary affiliate or branch [sic]. Non U.S. companies (foreign firms) listed have substantial investment within the United States--Introductory page. Databases may be searched by country, region, state, keyword, zip code or postal code, industry code, revenue and number of employees. Search results can be viewed in HTML and printed, or downloaded into Microsoft Excel.
- FirstHandCornell students have access to a unique service that provides "insider" views of companies and industries. FirstHand (formerly known as Vault) provides insider information that include glimpses into a company's corporate culture, salary negotiation, interview tips, and more. You can also find diversity profiles, career advice, internships, salary surveys, message boards, and more. You must create a personal user account using your Cornell email address to access FirstHand.
Basics of Company Research
1. Check the corporate structure, affiliation, status, related industry
2. Find out whether the company is public or private, a subsidiary or joint venture, a franchise, and/or foreign-owned.
3. Find out what articles have been published on various aspects of the company's operations
4. Consider current events, including business rankings.
5. Review the company website to find annual reports, filings, executives, news, press releases, etc.
Industry Research
Industry reports contain valuable analysis of an industry's operating conditions, driving forces, competitive landscapes, key statistics analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants, etc. Use IBISWorld, Mergent Intellect, Statista, and Thomson One to find these reports.
Industry codes have been developed over the years to provide a way to classify industries into categories and group firms of similar nature together. There are several major industry code systems: Identifying the appropriate code can significantly help you identify appropriate resources for that industry. Most industries are officially classified according to the North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS). These codes help you to identify competitors, and can help you find resources that will tell you more about your company's industry. Many companies will be part of multiple industries, and as a result will have several NAICS codes. Look at the main company profile page in Mergent to get an idea of what your company's primary Industry (and primary NAICS code) is. The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system was originally developed in the 1930’s to classify establishments by the type of activity in which they are primarily engaged. SIC codes ceased being updated in 1987, however their use remains widespread.
The best strategy for findings industry statistics to identify the stakeholders (governments, companies, organizations) and do a thorough search of their publications and Internet pages. The U.S. Census Bureau publishes statistics via their Industry Series Portal.
Company Financials
Publicly traded company financials can be found in databases such as Capital IQ, Mergent, and Edgar. Also look at the Investor Relations section of the companies website.
If the company is private, little or no specific financial information beyond sales figures may be available about the company. Try to find articles via Factiva or Nexis Uni. Both contain thousands of full-text newspapers and business periodicals; you may be able to locate articles which quote company officials discussing the firm's finances.