Labor Union Directories
AFL-CIO UnionsThe fifty-six AFL-CIO affiliated unions are listed on the labor federation's web site.
Association for Union Democracy (AUD) Links: Rank-and-file and Reform WebsitesAUD lists links to the websites of over 100 rank-and-file and union reform organizations, newsletters, and message boards.
Change to WinChange to Win is a labor federation comprised of the Service Employees International Union (SEIU), the International Brotherhood of Teamsters (IBT), and United Farm Workers (UFW). The Communication Workers of America (CWA) and United Auto Workers (UAW) are affiliated with both Change to Win and the AFL-CIO.
Union Directory (TheLaborSite.com)Alphabetical list of labor unions, with links and contact information. To find Locals, browse by parent union first.
XPDNC Labour DirectoryThis is an excellent directory of labor-related Internet sites around the world (This site has ads and pop-ups which may obscure content, scroll past to locate the directory). In addition to listing web sites for international, national, and local labor unions, XPDNC has organized web sites under useful and interesting categories such as Corporate Agenda, Labour Online, Media Outreach. Web sites within each category are organized by geographic area.
- Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)The EEOC is responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information. It is also illegal to discriminate against a person because the person complained about discrimination, filed a charge of discrimination, or participated in an employment discrimination lawsuit.
- Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service (FMCS)The FMCS provides arbitration and mediation services to industry, communities, and governmental agencies worldwide. Its mission is to improve labor-management relations, promote collective bargaining, and enhance organizational effectiveness.
- National Conference of State LegislaturesAn excellent source for finding current state legislation as well as analyses of top issues.
- National Labor Relations Board (NLRB)The National Labor Relations Board is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1935 to administer the National Labor Relations Act, the primary law governing relations between unions and employers in the private sector. The statute guarantees the right of employees to organize and to bargain collectively with their employers or to refrain from all such activity.
- National Mediation BoardThe NMB is an agency authorized by the Railway Labor Act to promote peace in the railway and airline industries. Select Resources>Knowledge Store to browse collective bargaining agreements.
- Office of Labor-Management Standards (OLMS)The OLMS of the U.S. Department of Labor administers and enforces most provisions of the Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act of 1959 (LMRDA). The LMRDA promotes union democracy and financial integrity in private sector labor unions through standards for union officer elections and union trusteeships and safeguards for union assets.
- State Labor Offices (U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division)Links to all 50 state labor departments.
- U.S. State Labor Relations & Mediation Agencies & BoardsThis ALRA (Association of Labor Relations Agencies) page links to the websites of U.S. state public employee relations and mediation boards and agencies, and notes states without. The page also includes links to U.S. Federal and Canadian provincial and federal pages.
- U.S. Department of Labor (DOL)The DOL fosters and promotes the welfare of the job seekers, wage earners, and retirees of the United States by improving their working conditions, advancing their opportunities for profitable employment, protecting their retirement and health care benefits, helping employers find workers, strengthening free collective bargaining, and tracking changes in employment, prices, and other national economic measurements.
- United States CourtsGateway to U.S. federal Court system.
Select Labor and Policy Organizations
- Coalition of Black Trade Unionists (CBTU)CBTU, an affiliate organization of the AFL-CIO, works within the framework of the trade union movement to provide a voice for greater black and minority participation and to improve economic opportunities for black workers. Their web site contains news about the organization's current activites, audiofiles of speeches by their leaders, and a directory of local chapters.
- Coalition of Labor Union WomenCLUW is an affiliate organization of the AFL-CIO which advocates for working women's issues. Their web site includes the CLUW newsletter, publications, and information on the Union Women's Summer Schools.
- Economic Policy InstituteEPI is a is a nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank "that seeks to broaden the public debate about strategies to achieve a prosperous and fair economy". Their web site features briefings, data and reports on economic issues such as minimum wage, trade policies, employment trends.
- Worker Center Network (Interfaith Worker Justice)Locate IWJ-affiliated workers' centers by state, and access publications and resources for organizing.
- Labor and Employment Relations Association (LERA)The Labor and Employment Relations Association, formerly the Industrial Relations Research Association, is an organization of professionals interested in industrial relations and human resources. Its 3,000 members include academics and practitioners. LERA publications, including its periodical, Perspectives on Work; its Annual Research Volume; and its Proceedings provide analysis of collective bargaining and industrial relations issues. View the index of post 1992 LERA and IRRA publications.
- Labor Research & Action Network (LRAN)LRAN is a collaboration connecting academics and labor practitioners to build workplace and economic power for working people.
- National Guestworker AllianceThe National Guestworker Alliance (NGA) is a membership organization of guestworkers.
- National Legal and Policy CenterThe NLPC advocates ending the use of compulsory union dues for political purposes.
- United Association for Labor Education (UALE)UALE is a new, united organization of labor educators. Click on "Member Organizations" to see listing of labor education programs from universities and colleges, labor unions. and community organizations.
These tools will help you find associations in your interest area. Some of the tools also allow you to research the financial health and management of a member organization or non-profit entity.
Associations UnlimitedContains information for approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. For some 2,600 major U.S. national associations, provides full-text association materials such as brochures, pamphlets, and membership application forms.
Guidestar PremiumSearchable directory that provides detailed information on more than 850,000 nonprofit (501) organizations. Profiles cover mission and programs, financials, leaders, and most importantly, full text via PDF of the charity's IRS 990 filing from 1998 forward in most cases. Form 990 provides information on revenues, expenses, programs, activities, executive salaries and board members. The database contains significant free content. Access to some free content requires registration. Additional premium content is available at the ILR Library. Please ask for assistance at the ILR Reference Desk.
IRS Tax StatisticsHere you will find a wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system. This data is extremely useful for scholarly and policy research.
Leadership ConnectFormerly Leadership Library, Leadership Connect allows searching and browsing within individual directories or across all directories using single or multiple criteria, such as name, job title, industry, and geographical location.