American Historical Newspapers Online: Regions and Subjects

Massachusetts

• Sturgis Library's Digital Newspaper Archive includes issues of the Cape Cod newspapers, the Barnstable Patriot from 1830 to 2017, and the Register (Yarmouth) from 1836 to 2017.
• The Liberator (1831-1855), William Lloyd Garrison's newspaper, is available through Accessible Archives, which publishes transcriptions of papers.
• New Bedford's Portuguese-language newspaper, Diario de Noticias,(also known as the Portuguese Daily News, (1919-1973)
• The Cambridge Public Library has created the Historic Cambridge Newspaper Collection. Newspapers include the Cambridge Chronicle (1846-1923), the Cambridge Press (1887-1889), the Cambridge Sentinel (1903-1912), and the Cambridge Tribune (1887-1923).

Alabama

• The Birmingham Public Library makes available a collection of Birmingham Newspapers for 1874-1901.
• The Jacksonville Republican for 1837 to December of 1895 has been digitized in PDF format by Jacksonville State University.

Arkansas

• Visit the Arkansas Digital Newspaper Project for access to Arkansas newspapers in conjunction with the Library of Congress' Chronicling America project.

Florida

• The Florida Digital Newspaper Library (1762-2008)
• Boca Raton, FL newspapers (1938-1969), from the Boca Raton historical society.

Georgia

• You can search a number of Georgia Historic Newspapers in the Digital Library of Georgia's online collection.

Kentucky

• Kentuckiana Digital Library contains more than 17,500 issues from 36 newspapers from across the state.

Louisiana

• New Orleans Bee (1827-1923).  Each issue is a single PDF file.

North Carolina

The North Carolina Newspaper Digitization project from the North Carolina State Archives has digitized a number of newspapers from microfilm.  The papers date from 1751-1890s and are from cities like Edenton (1787-1801), Fayetteville (1798-1795), Hillsboro (1786), New Bern (1751-1804), Salisbury (1799-1898), and Wilmington (1765-1816).  There are a total of 23,483 digital images that are keyword searchable.

South Carolina

• The New South Newspaper of Port Royal & Beaufort (1862-1866)
• The South Carolina Gazette (1732-1775) and several other 18th century South Carolina newspapers are available through Accessible Archives, which publishes transcriptions of old newspapers.

Virginia

• Virginia Gazette (1736-1780)
• The Richmond Daily Dispatch (1860-1865)

• The Pennsylvania Civil War Collection consists of newspapers from the civil war era dated from February 23,1831 to February 14,1877.
• The Civil War, 1860-1865. Accessible Archives's database, available online and as a CD-ROM in the Library, contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.
• HarpWeek offers full-text access to Harper's Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper. The Library has licensed access to the issues from 1857-1912. The Library also has a CD-ROM of the Civil War era issues.
• The Richmond Daily Dispatch (1860-1865) presents the war as seen from the capitol of the Confederacy.

Stars and Stripes (1918-1919)

Ancestry.com contains three sets of digitized versions of Stars and Stripes:

• Stars and Stripes Newspaper, WWI Edition, 1918-1919
• Stars and Stripes Newspaper, Europe, Mediterranean, and North Africa Editions, 1942-1964
• Stars and Stripes Newspaper, Pacific Editions, 1945-1963

The Digital Military Newspaper Library is a pilot project digitizing newspapers from Naval and Air Force bases in Florida as well as bases in King's Bay Georgia, the Panama Canal Zone and Guantanamo Bay, Cuba.

Cornell Daily Sun

The Cornell Daily Sun is available, beginning with 1880, though the coverage over the years is not complete. The Ithaca College Ithacan has been digitized starting with 1926.

More Student Papers

Other student papers include:

• The University of Richmond, The Collegian (1914-2003).
• Two Washington, D.C. student newspapers, the American University Eagle (1925-1996) and the Georgetown Hoya (1959-1980) through the WRLC Student Newspaper Collection.
• Lincoln University of Pennsylvania newspapers, the "Lincoln News" and "Lincolnian", for 1925-2003.
• Three of Penn State's student newspapers are online: The Daily Collegian (1887-1987). The Behrend Beacon, and the Hazleton Highacres.
• Gettysburg College's Gettysburgian (1897-2004).
• Franklin & Marshall College Reporter(1915-2001)
• Harvard Crimson (1776-Current)
• Illinois Wesleyan University Argus is keyword (not full text) searchable from 1894-2003.
• North Central College (Naperville, IL) Chronicle (1873-2008)
• University of Utah, Daily Utah Chronicle (1892-1940)
• Holy Cross Crusader (1960-1970)
• At least five Florida student papers are included in the Florida Digital Newspaper Library
• University of Nebraska-Omaha, The Gateway (1922-2009)
• Mundelein College, The Skyscraper (1930-1991)
• ArcaSearch has digitized a number of student papers including Carleton College, Carltonian (1877-2009), Concordia College, Concordian (1920-2008), and Gustavus Adolphus College, Gustavian Weekly (1970-2005). All our listed on this page.
• Davidson College Davidsonian (1914-2006)
• Jacksonville State (Alabama) Chanticleer (1939-2010)
• New Mexico Roundup (1893-1999)
• Mercer University Cluster (1920-1970)
• University of Georgia Red and Black (1893-2006)

Maryland

• The Maryland State Archives' Early State Records Online includes 17 titles from 1802-1918, with one title (Kent County News) from 1965.

New Jersey

• Atlantic County Digitized Newspapers (1860-1923). A selection of papers from the Atlantic City area.
• Cranbury Press (1886-1926)
• Red Bank Register (1878-1923).
• The Silent Worker (1888-1929) was a popular national newspaper published by the New Jersey School for the Deaf.

Pennsylvania

• The State Library of Pennsylvania has an excellent set of lists of Pennsylvania Newspapers by Town and by County.
• Lancaster Farming is the third largest weekly agricultural publication currently being published in the United States. Scans of issues from 1955-1983 are available.
• The Lancaster County Digitization Projectincludes 5 Lancaster newspapers, from 1816 to 1950.
• The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project consists of The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present), and the Y-JCC series (1926-1975).
• The Newspaper Archives of the Green Free Public Library has newspapers from Tioga and Wellsboro for 1838-2006.
• The Newspaper Archives of Smethport has a number of newspapers from Mckean and the surrounding area from 1833 -1977.
• Accessible Archives, which publishes transcriptions of old newspapers, includes many Pennsylvania titles in their collections. Some are available on CD-ROM in the Library as well. Available Pennsylvania papers include the Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800, and Delaware County newspapers, 1819-1870.

Alaska

• [click on the Archives tab]: Tundra Times, 1965-1997
• Various Petersburg newspapers, 1913-1931

Arizona

• Casa Grande Newspaper Archives, 1912-2007, from the Casa Grande Public Library
• The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico, from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.

California

• California Digital Newspaper Collection, one of the Chronicling America grant projects, offers over 200,000 pages of California newspapers spanning the years 1849-191l: the Alta California, 1849-1891; the San Francisco Call, 1893-1910; the Amador Ledger, 1900-1911; the Imperial Valley Press, 1901-1911; the Sacramento Record-Union, 1859-1890; and the Los Angeles Herald, 1905-1907.
• Chung Sai Yat Po (1900-1904), a Chinese language newspaper from San Francisco.

Colorado

• Colorado's Historic Newspaper Collection (1859-1923)

Hawaii

• The Hawaiian Language Newspaper Project (1834-1927) at the University of Hawaii consists of scans of several newspaper in the native language.
• The Hawaiian Electronic Library also includes Hawaiian-language newspapers published between 1834 and 1948.

Nevada

• Las Vegas Age (1905-1924)

Oregon

• Historic Oregon Newspapers includes 18 titles published between 1846 and 1922.

South Dakota

An NEH grant was awarded to fund the South Dakota Digital Newspaper Program. Plans are to digitize historic newspapers from 1836-1922. None are currently available.

Texas

• San Antonio Daily Light (1886-1907)

Utah

• Utah Digital Newspapers (roughly 1850-1950).

Washington

• Historical Newspapers in Washington project. 17 newspapers from Washington State, from 1852 to 1890.

Wyoming

• The Wyoming Newspaper Project intends eventually to make newspapers published between 1849 and 1922 available. Currently more than 800,000 pages are online and searchable.

Illinois

• Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey (1855-1938), a collection of translated newspaper articles originally published in Chicago’s ethnic press. The project consists of 120,000 typewritten pages translated from newspapers of 22 different foreign language communities of Chicago.
• Flora Digital Newspapers (1907- )
• Quincy Historical Newspaper Archive (1835-1919)
• Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection, consisting of the Daily Illini (1916-1936) and the Urbana Daily Courier (1916-1925)

Indiana

• Vevay Newspapers, Switzerland County (1840-1901).

Iowa

• Adams County Free Press (1876-2000)
• Cedar Rapids Library Newspaper Archives (1857-1998)
• Sioux County Newspaper Archives (1872-2000)

Michigan

• Saugatuck Commerical Record (1868-1940s)

Minnesota

• Winona Newspaper Project (1855-1976) Three newspapers from Winona County, Minnesota: the Argus, the Daily Republican, and the Republican Herald. Click on Winowa Newspaper Archive link and when you get to search screen use Advanced to select papers.
• The Minnesota Digital Newspaper Project will be digitizing material from 1880-1910 during the next two years under the auspices of the National Digital Newspaper Program.

Missouri

• Missouri Digital Heritage [choose Newspapers on the home page : Newspapers from St. Louis and other locations throughout the state of Missouri, dating from the late 1800s.

Ohio

• Chillicothe Constitution Tribune (1889-2006)

Wisconsin

• Door County Library Newspaper Archive (1862-1923)