James Baldwin: Public Intellectual

Research Strategies on James Baldwin*

Take a few moments to think about the following: 

1. What am I trying to accomplish?
2. How interested am I in this idea?
3. How much time do I have?
4. What information and resources are available? 
5. Does your issue have sub-topics that you need to know more about? 
6. What is the assigned length of the research paper?

All research starts with a question:

• For example: Does the issues that James Baldwin raised in this writings relate to issues in today's world? 
  • Identify keywords and phrases from your research question: James Baldwin, social justice, present, now, problems, concerns, equity, systemic inequality, racial discrimination, gender bias, sexuality, heterosexism, homophobia, economic inequality, identity, and racism.
  • For tips on keywords check out, "How to pick the best keywords."
• Search subject-focused encyclopedias and bibliographies:
  • Gale eBooks: Type "James Baldwin" in the search box (include the quotation marks).
  • Gale Literature Resource Center, James Baldwin
  • Oxford Bibliographies, James Baldwin (D. Quentin Miller)
  • Oxford Bibliographies, James Baldwin (Magdalena J. Zaborowska)
• Books are often a good place to get ideas or information on a topic. They can help you address your question. In addition, it can lead you to additional resources. Check out "Books of Essays by James Baldwin," CUL Cornell Catalog, or one of the above encyclopedias/bibliographies as a start.
• Articles located in journals, magazines, and newspapers can lead you to a abundance of information. For starters check out Baldwin Review, Academic Search Premier, Black Studies Center, or CUL Databases.
• Africana Studies subject guides.
• Cornell University Library's Collections.
• Archival Materials on Baldwin.
• Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources guide.
• Identify misinformation, disinformation, and propaganda guide.
• Tips for critically analyzing information sources guide.
•  How to distinguish scholarly vs non-scholarly sources guide.
• How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography guide.
• Citation Management Sources.

*An individual not affiliated with Cornell who is unable to access some of the resources
should check with their local library for comparable resources.  

This guide was created by Kofi Acree, Director of the John Henrik Clarke Africana Library; send email.